The Sleeper Wakes

30 Nov

100 words to greet the dawn for old time’s sake and my friends at Friday Fictioneers based on a photo below by Jan Wayne Fields.

camping

(Copyright Jan Wayne Fields)

I rise at dawn and stand by the temple bell to give thanks and greet the morning. Gold paints the forest ridges that rise to the mist shrouded summit of Totokoroa. Calls of bell birds ring across the valley. A breeze ruffles the fabric of the tent. I strike the bell softly. It’s deep, resonant note sounds, and joins the music of the day’s beginning.

I make tea and return to bed. The smoky fragrance of Lapsang Souchong causes a figure sleeping there to stir. I whisper in her ear.

“The sun is on the mountain.”

And she smiles.

 

totokoroa-dawn

50 Responses to “The Sleeper Wakes”

  1. neilmacdon November 30, 2016 at 11:51 pm #

    beautifully written

    • dmmacilroy November 30, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

      Dear Neil,

      Thank you for saying so.

      Yours,

      Doug

  2. rochellewisoff December 1, 2016 at 12:23 am #

    Dear Doug,

    How lovely that the breeze lofted you and sent you our direction. Your presence has been missed.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy December 1, 2016 at 12:36 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      Sweet words. Long story made short. Thank you for reading.

      Yours,

      Doug

  3. sustainabilitea December 1, 2016 at 12:58 am #

    Although I haven’t been writing with FF for some time, I’ve missed you in my Reader feed and on F. Beautiful story…fact or fiction? Hope you check in more often.

    janet (and Bill)

    • dmmacilroy December 1, 2016 at 1:09 am #

      Dear Janet,

      It’s nice to see/hear/read you, too. Like almost all of my stories, it is a metaphor for my life. I hope you and Bill are prospering. Thanks for the good wishes.

      Your friend,

      Doug

      • sustainabilitea December 1, 2016 at 1:10 am #

        I thought it might be, Doug. Please check in by email or FB sometimes. We care about you.

  4. HonieBriggs December 1, 2016 at 2:03 am #

    Doug, this is music. Soft and strong. Way to make a come back.

    • dmmacilroy December 1, 2016 at 3:03 am #

      Dear Honie,

      Still working on the notes. I’m happy you heard the music and thank you for saying so. (You make it nice to be back.)

      Yours,

      Doug

  5. Sandra Conner December 1, 2016 at 2:09 am #

    You definitely HAVE been a sleeper. I thought perhaps you’d taken off on one of your unique journeys and ended up living on a mountain in Tibet with no Internet. 🙂
    But, seriously, I can’t scold you for not writing lately because I haven’t been able to keep up with the FF fun with any regularity this whole past year myself. Still, it’s fun to read the stories by others who are hanging in there. I’ve certainly missed yours.
    The imagery here is beautiful. And I have to admit that a man who will rise early to greet the day joyfully, then make tea and bring it back to bed is a man worth knowing.

  6. dmmacilroy December 1, 2016 at 2:30 am #

    Dear Sandra,

    Your intuition was spot on. I am living on a mountainside, I have had tremendous difficulty getting and maintaining any meaningful internet connectivity and yes, I am shaping up pretty well in the tea making department.

    Happy to hear from you after this long year away. I hope you are well and prospering and I look forward to hearing more from you in the future.

    Love,

    Doug

  7. Sandra December 1, 2016 at 7:07 am #

    I can’t tell you how lovely it is to have an offering from you again. And such a beautiful piece too that tells me all is well in your life. You’ve been missed, and I suspect will be missed again, so I’ll just appreciate this intermezzo and hope there’ll be another refrain from you again soon. x

    • dmmacilroy December 1, 2016 at 8:00 am #

      Dearest Sandra,

      There is music in my life. I think you’ll hear a refrain or three in the coming months. Thank you so much for sharing your heart with me. Treasures abound there.

      Yours,

      Doug

  8. Oyeleke Williams December 1, 2016 at 12:49 pm #

    Your writing is beautifully done as we have come to expect. In fact, they have the power to draw to us out of long drawn hiatus.

    Doug, it’s nice to know you are prospering and in shape.

    Love.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:23 am #

      Dear Oyeleke,

      Good to hear from you and I’m happy to know my words moved you to write. Thanks for saying hello.

      Yours,

      Doug

  9. ceayr December 1, 2016 at 1:24 pm #

    Neat story.
    Now if you could just pop down the mountain and pick up a couple of croissants…

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:25 am #

      Dear Ceayr,

      Ah, croissants. Interesting you should mention those. I have become the croissant warmer once a week. New skills abound. Thanks for commenting on my story.

      Yours,

      Doug

  10. tedstrutz December 1, 2016 at 3:00 pm #

    Lovely read, as always.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:26 am #

      Dear Ted,

      I’ve got just one thing to say to you….Happy Birthday!

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. draliman December 1, 2016 at 4:41 pm #

    Lovely, you paint such a tranquil scene.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:26 am #

      Dear Draliman,

      Thank you, kind sir, for saying so.

      Yours,

      Doug

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) December 1, 2016 at 7:55 pm #

    How great to see you Doug, and the story is exactly why i love to sleep in a tent… to wake there (and now I’m inspired to bring Lapsang on our next hike)

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:28 am #

      Dear Bjorn,

      Are you a tea aficionado? Do try some Lapland Souchoung. Delightful smoky flavor. It’s great to be seen again and thank you for commenting on my vignette.

      Yours,

      Doug

  13. TraceyDelaplainMD.com December 1, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

    So glad to see you in my inbox. This piece is lovely and inspirational. What a great way to start any day. I’m living in Mexico by the sea and I share your internet struggles. I hope to contribute to FF again soon.
    Tracey

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:32 am #

      Dear Tracey,

      Trading diagnoses and band-aids for Margaritas and Mojitos? I hope your days are tranquil and full of sunshine and your nights are warm and full of the sound of the sea. Lovely to see you here after my prolonged absence. Your writing coming along? You know how to tell a story.

      Yours,

      Doug

      • TraceyDelaplainMD.com December 5, 2016 at 9:02 pm #

        Writing? What’s that? Mostly being lazy and getting settled but there are lots of interesting people here. It would be shame not to tell their stories.
        Thank you,
        Tracey

  14. Iain Kelly December 1, 2016 at 10:55 pm #

    Nice calming scene. Well written.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:32 am #

      Dear Iain,

      Thanks for letting my words relax you.

      Yours,

      Doug

  15. Michael Wynn December 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

    Lovely descriptions

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:33 am #

      Dear Michael,

      Thanks for saying so.

      Yours,

      Doug

  16. Dale December 2, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

    What a beautiful way to start the day…

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:33 am #

      Dear Dale,

      Yes….it is.

      Yours,

      Doug

  17. jellico84 December 2, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

    Oh, what a beautiful interlude you have shared with us this week. Such a peaceful scene.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:35 am #

      Dear jellico84,

      I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

      Yours,

      Doug

  18. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover December 2, 2016 at 8:14 pm #

    You painted a beautiful picture. If this is how you start your day I am seriously jealous.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:36 am #

      Dear LLoaDL,

      It is. But I’m sure that your view has its own compensations. Thanks for commenting.

      Yours,

      Doug

  19. Dahlia December 3, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    In so few words, you painted a beautiful soothing picture that took me to my childhood – lovely 🙂

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:21 am #

      Dear Dahlia,

      Your childhood must have been something to experience. Thanks for the wonderful comment

      Yours,

      Doug

      • Dahlia December 5, 2016 at 2:18 am #

        Yes Doug, I grew up on the foothills of the Himalayas and slept to the gush of the Ganges – it was a magical place away from everywhere 🙂

  20. patriciaruthsusan December 3, 2016 at 10:51 am #

    Beautiful writing as always, Doug. You paint a brilliant word picture. I loved the mountain picture you added also. It’s so good to see you back. 🙂 — Suzanne

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:20 am #

      Dear Suzanne,

      It is nice to visit here again. Thank you for the welcoming words.

      Yours,

      Doug

  21. Laurie Bell December 3, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    Gorgeous! I can feel her smile, great descriptions!

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:19 am #

      Dear Laurie,

      Thanks for letting the words move you and for saying so.

      Yours,

      Doug

  22. Clare Hempstead December 3, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

    So many senses stimulated in this. Lovely!

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:17 am #

      Dear Clare,

      Thank you for saying so.

      Yours,

      Doug

  23. Justin Case (@LocoFringe) December 3, 2016 at 4:31 pm #

    Good to hear from you once again. I see your travels have taken you to new parts of the world, as new parts of your consciousness are revealed. I suppose you have to leave the city of your comfort and go to the wilderness of your intuition and what you discover is wonderful. It is a spiritual awakening from the dream of your thoughts and what you seek is already within you. Tell us more of your journey thru life and in NZ.

    • dmmacilroy December 4, 2016 at 11:17 am #

      Dear Justin,

      It is good to hear your voice again, my friend. I’d thought you were lost to the static. Your comment is as lyrical as it is accurate. Can you be found on e-mail? You seem to have done some inner work yourself. Please drop me a line as I’d like your permission to use your words elsewhere. Hope to hear from you.

      Yours on the mountainside,

      Doug

  24. momtheobscure December 4, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    This was just lovely and evocative – and ahh the smoky scent of lapsang souchong

  25. Indira December 5, 2016 at 5:04 pm #

    Beautiful.

  26. dayphoto February 9, 2017 at 10:23 pm #

    That sleeping lady would smile…the sun and the moon and tea. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

