Flying Switch

8 Jul

100 words out of the blue for my fellow travelers in Friday Fictioneers. Nice to see you all again. Don’t comment, as I’m moving fast and may not be able to answer. Just enjoy the ride. I’ll settle soon. Love to you all, D.

 

flying switch

(C0pyright Stephen Baum)

See that light up ahead? Early on in life and for years thereafter I’d have said it was an oncoming train. You get a feel for what your mistakes look like rushing toward you through the gloom.

Once I passed the half century mark I figured out that though I was on the tracks, I was also in charge of the trains. I learned to change their schedules or shunt them onto sidings and in time became a good stationmaster.

Now I know the light is my future.

It’s bright.

It’s the beginning of anything I want.

And it’s about time.

 

 

Ouroborous

 

26 Responses to “Flying Switch”

  1. Carol Deminski July 8, 2015 at 11:01 am #

    This is terrific. No reply needed Doug, just keep doing what you do!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. micklively July 8, 2015 at 11:11 am #

    I like the “otherworldly” feel to this – almost like an “out of body” experience.

  3. Sandra July 8, 2015 at 11:46 am #

    In a good place, then. Enjoy!

  4. bykimberlylynne July 8, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

    I love the optimism in this piece. Well done.

  5. Vinay Leo R. July 8, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

    Very hopeful ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking at the silver lining and ducking the clouds. Enjoyed the piece!

    Leo @ I Rhyme Without Reason

  6. patrickprinsloo July 8, 2015 at 4:37 pm #

    A very positive take on life (and death). Good to be in control.

  7. Bjรถrn Rudberg (brudberg) July 8, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

    Life has its ups and downs…

  8. elmowrites July 8, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

    No comment. As instructed! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Horus July 9, 2015 at 12:06 pm #

    Excellent way to find your place in life !

  10. BrainRants July 9, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

    He’s obviously learned from his experiences. Nicely done.

  11. David Stewart July 10, 2015 at 2:09 am #

    Doug,
    don’t feel you have to reply, but I wanted to comment anyway. I love the optimism and all the metaphorical language here. Great job.
    -David

  12. Dale July 10, 2015 at 3:13 am #

    Don’t you love it when your “Peeps” diss you and comment anyway? I love this. I think most of us now in our, ahem, second half century can appreciate it even more!

  13. wildbilbo July 10, 2015 at 5:45 am #

    Its a great piece – the change in attitude as you get older is something I’m discovering myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    Cheers
    KT

  14. gravadee July 10, 2015 at 8:45 am #

    All I can say is Woah, Too good

  15. rgayer55 July 10, 2015 at 10:54 am #

    I love that attitude. The best is yet to come, my friend.

  16. afairymind July 10, 2015 at 5:34 pm #

    I love this. ๐Ÿ™‚ Very well done.

  17. Yolanda Renee July 10, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

    Well done, enjoy the change you’re making now!

  18. storydivamg July 10, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

    Well, I’ll comment anyway just so you know I came round to read and did enjoy this. It’s difficult to pull off a reflection as an actual story–especially when it has such a strong moral ending–but this works. There’s enough action to hold a reader’s attention. Nice job.

    Best wishes in your current pursuits!

    MG

  19. rogershipp July 10, 2015 at 10:20 pm #

    Great positive outlook… He is on the right track (couldn;t resist?)

  20. Margaret July 11, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

    Fantastic. Love how you play with perspective.

  21. erinleary July 11, 2015 at 4:17 pm #

    Beautiful, Doug. And so true. It’s a message I try to share with others, but we each have to figure it out.

  22. mjlstories July 12, 2015 at 3:24 pm #

    This brilliant inspiring piece of philosophy needs no comment, so here it isn’t.
    Thanks Doug. Lovely to read your piece.

  23. gahlearner July 13, 2015 at 4:13 pm #

    It reads like a good way to live a life and take whatever comes with hope.

  24. Suzanne Joshi July 14, 2015 at 10:56 pm #

    Great way to take life, Doug. I thought I’d commented already but I don”t see it so here it is again. ๐Ÿ™‚ — Suzanne

  25. beepete October 25, 2016 at 3:39 am #

    I have passed the half century mark but am still not in charge of the trains. Thought provoking.

    • dmmacilroy October 25, 2016 at 4:24 am #

      Dear Brian,

      The truth is, you are in charge of the trains and you’re on the right track. Thanks for visiting.

      Yours,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

