Low Brows and High Art

1 Apr

100 words for Friday Fictioneers based on the photo prompt below from Lauren Moscato.

Lauren Moscato

(Copyright Lauren Moscato)

Who was the artist?”

Salguod Yorlicam.”

How long’d it take?”

Three days. Dude asked could he put a mural on my wall, slept on the scaffolding I rented when he wasn’t painting, then signed it above the air conditioner when he was done and walked off. Some gallery owner just offered me three-hundred grand for the whole building. Said an original tromploy by Yorlicam was well worth it.”

A what?”

Tromploy. Means fool the eye. He did a good job, don’t you think?”

You going to sell?”

Shark fart in the water?”

94 Responses to “Low Brows and High Art”

  1. Sandra April 1, 2015 at 10:07 am #

    That’s a cracker. 🙂 🙂 Maybe absence has honed my senses, but that’s the second time I’ve fallen about laughing this week and I’ve only read four. Loved tromploy, fell for it and looked it up. Duh! You should write comedy scripts. Love Ardnas Felon

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:48 am #

      Dear Sandra,

      Happy to participate in your laughter therapy. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Sandra April 8, 2015 at 7:29 am #

        See you shortly.

  2. rochellewisoff April 1, 2015 at 10:22 am #

    Dear Doug,

    I’d love to see more works by the artist. Perhaps he could paint the ceiling of Church of the Holy Chlorination. I bow Low to Your writing and I Laugh aloud at Your last line.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:49 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      Well, they do. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. Suzanne Joshi April 1, 2015 at 10:47 am #

    Very amusing, Doug, and always well written. I also looked up the word “tromploy.” Although I never thought of it before, I would surmise sharks “have” to fart in the water. 😀 — Suzanne

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:50 am #

      Tromploy became a much easier way to say the word and far more appropriate for the characters involved. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. wildbilbo April 1, 2015 at 11:33 am #

    Ok, I fell for it & wondered if Yoriclam was a Ukrainian Banksy… and the first hit on Google was ‘Macilroy reversed is Yorlicam’.

    And I shall now ad Tromploy to my vocabulary 🙂

    I enjoyed this, a fun piece.
    KT

    • dmmacilroy April 1, 2015 at 11:39 am #

      Dear KT,

      I said I’d go easy on you this week, right? Thought since it was April 1st and all that…

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Standing by for your work of art.

      Aloha,

      Guod

  5. J Hardy Carroll April 1, 2015 at 12:07 pm #

    Super cool take.

  6. bykimberlylynne April 1, 2015 at 12:09 pm #

    Dear Guod,
    Now we must invent a word for fool the reader; “yolpmort,” perhaps? Thanks for the starf and giggles. Well done,
    Mik

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:53 am #

      Dear Kimberly,

      Yolpmort it is.Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. junkersfictioncorner April 1, 2015 at 12:17 pm #

    Good one… love the word play in the name. And, shark’s farting…. sorry, I haven’t heard that phrase in decades. giggles….

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:54 am #

      Dear Junkers,

      Well, they do, right? Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. emmylgant April 1, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

    Love your creative spelling! ‘tromploy” is brilliant!
    And, you know, it never occurred to me, about sharks…
    Very entertaining!

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:55 am #

      Dear Emmy,

      I’ve never asked one, but I imagine they do. Thanks for the compliments. i appreciate it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. elmowrites April 1, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

    Loved it, Doug. I used to work in Bristol and enjoy some of Banksy’s murals on a daily basis. Your Mr Yorlicam strikes me as similarly talented, much like his (almost) namesake, Mr Macilroy.
    Thank you for the giggles this morning,

    J

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:56 am #

      Dear Jennifer.

      You’re welcome for the giggles. Thanks for dropping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. ansumani April 1, 2015 at 1:29 pm #

    Still laughing…..

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:56 am #

      Good medicine. Keep it up.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. Snow's Fissures and Fractures April 1, 2015 at 1:31 pm #

    It’s not only funny, it is cleverly funny. What’s in a name, eh? Loved it.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:57 am #

      Dear Lore,

      Sorry to be so late replying. Thanks for the feedback.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  12. Liz Young April 1, 2015 at 2:50 pm #

    Loved it! And the last line too 🙂

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:57 am #

      Dear Liz,

      i like it when I finish, too. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. tedstrutz April 1, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    Nice one, Doug. Clever.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:58 am #

      Dear Ted,

      Happy Spring to you. Thanks for dropping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  14. k rawson April 1, 2015 at 5:44 pm #

    Oh that’s great! Tromploy indeed. Apt take on this April Fools day too.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:58 am #

      Dear Karen,

      It did kind of fit the day, didn’t it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  15. storydivamg April 1, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

    Dear Goud,
    This was good for a grin and a pretty darned good piece of writing too.
    All my best,
    Eraim Liag Droftarts

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 6:59 am #

      Dear Eraim Liag,

      I love your name backwards. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. lingeringvisions by Dawn April 1, 2015 at 8:01 pm #

    Fun stuff, fooled me. 😉

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:00 am #

      Dear Dawn,

      Good for me. Thanks for dropping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. aliciajamtaas April 1, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

    Read the whole piece through then looked at the picture again, All I saw was tromploy. Made me grin. Thank you.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:00 am #

      Dear Alicia,

      You’re welcome. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. MythRider April 1, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

    Dear Doug,
    I had no idea that Shark fart in the water. Learn something new every day.
    ;0}
    Phyllis

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:01 am #

      Dear Phyllis,

      You’re a hoot. i’m sure they do.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. helenmidgley April 1, 2015 at 10:18 pm #

    I’m laughing out loud 🙂

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:01 am #

      Dear Helen,

      Thanks for laughing. And for dropping by to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  20. singleworkingmomswm April 1, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    What a fabulously funny read for today! And, as I figure myself a “fool” much of the time, I was so pleased with myself for figuring it all out….of course, with a little help from Google. Chuckling, literally. Thanks so much, Yorlicam-truly impressive…like farts from a shark (well, impressive may be a bit strong o’ word for a shark fart, but, you get my “drift”)…bubble, bubble, bubble…XOXO-Kasey

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:03 am #

      Dear Kasey,

      Your presence here makes me smile. Thank you. You like Yorlicam? I always thought it had a nice ring to it. Thanks for drifting with me.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • singleworkingmomswm April 8, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

        Dear Doug, Yes, I do! 🙂 It’s my pleasure to drift along with you. Something about you/your writing relaxes me. I look forward to this week’s 100 words. XOXO, Kasey

  21. Tracey@WhatsforDinnerDoc.com April 1, 2015 at 11:16 pm #

    Funny, I’m smiling. A lady shark would NOT.
    Tracey

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:03 am #

      Dear Tracey,

      Sure they wouldn’t. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  22. AnElephantCant April 2, 2015 at 10:38 am #

    AnElephant chortles with glee.
    In French!

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:06 am #

      Dear AEC,

      Thank you, sir.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  23. draliman April 2, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    Clever, the idea that it’s a mural rather than an actual door! Sounds like it’s going to be quite lucrative for the owner, too.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:08 am #

      Dear Draliman,

      No one has twigged to it, despite my story, but it is actually a painting. Look closely. The clues are there. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  24. gahlearner April 2, 2015 at 4:27 pm #

    Great idea, great writing, so much fun. Thanks for the laughter. 🙂

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:08 am #

      Dear GAH,

      Thanks for saying so and you’re welcome.
      aloha,

      Doug

  25. Priceless Joy April 2, 2015 at 5:02 pm #

    This is hilarious. How can sharks fart in water when they don’t breathe air? Water farts? LOL

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:10 am #

      Dear PJ,

      Last time I checked, flatulence was a product of the digestive system and sharks have one of those. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  26. plaridel April 2, 2015 at 5:04 pm #

    the title alone made me laugh already. well-done. 🙂

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:11 am #

      Dear Plaridel,

      Thanks for noting the title. Once it hit me, I remained hit. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  27. Nan Falkner April 2, 2015 at 6:03 pm #

    I love your last line too – it’s going to be a classic! Great story!!! Nan

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:12 am #

      Dear Nan,

      Thanks for the props. I didn’t think that line was that unusual, but the comments are bearing out your side of the story. Perhaps it’s because I’m surrounded by sharks where i live.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  28. Jan Brown April 2, 2015 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh, Salguod, we asked for more humor, and we have received. Well done!

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:13 am #

      Dear Jan.

      It was an accident, i assure you. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  29. rogershipp April 2, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    Great idea for the prompt! I’ve been busy with A-Z and have gotten behind on this one.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:13 am #

      Dear Roger,

      i know what you mean. Never fear. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  30. rgayer55 April 2, 2015 at 10:12 pm #

    Mr. Yorlicam,
    On behalf of Pacific Sharks Union #413, be informed that your slanderous remark regarding shark flatulence is insensitive and offensive to our species. Rather than sue for monetary compensation, my clients are demanding your left testicle as payment for damages and mental anguish. Payment will be extracted during your next ocean swim.
    Respectfully,
    Llessur Reyag; Personal Injury Attorney

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:16 am #

      Dear Llessur,

      Many people have commented to me about your comment and I have to tell you that I agree with their opinions that it is a hoot, as are you. i will be staying clear of the water until my divorce comes through, at which time i will have already donated, so to speak and will not have to worry about the aforementioned compensation demanded. I may, upon reflection on the matter, receive professional courtesy from your clients…

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  31. The Writer's Village April 3, 2015 at 12:19 am #

    when a shark farts
    with his teeth dear
    Scarlett billows seem to spread…

    Right song, wrong verb. Butt,
    before you consider selling – Call Sothebys!

    Randy

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:17 am #

      Dear Randy,

      Great comment. Perfect song. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  32. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) April 3, 2015 at 6:16 am #

    Great story, fun and creative. Me and the Road Runner keep trying to go through that door; he gets through, I get flattened like a pancake. (But then I shake myself out and I’m fine.)

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:18 am #

      Dear Perry,

      He was good at tunnel and road tromploys, wasn’t he. So are you. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  33. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist April 3, 2015 at 8:18 am #

    That was funny Doug and such a good take on the prompt. Enjoyed your made up words an illusion of an illusion. The shark fart just finishes it off perfectly. Great flash.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:21 am #

      Dear Irene,

      I am gratified to hear that my story provided you with a laugh. I’m sure that sharks do fart in the water…

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist April 8, 2015 at 10:53 pm #

        Believe it or not Doug I actually looked it up after reading your piece and sharks don’t fart as we do but do expel gas from another orifice but it isn’t considered to be a fart. 🙂

  34. Dee April 3, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    Dear Doug

    Thank you for such a great take on the prompt. It’s funny and so very clever, well done.

    Best wishes

    Dee

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:22 am #

      Dear Dee,

      I appreciate your kind feedback on Low Brows… This one came too easily to me. Should I be worried?

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  35. Francesca Smith April 3, 2015 at 7:15 pm #

    A very clever take on the prompt, and well written too!

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:22 am #

      Dear Francesca,

      Thank you for saying so. Blind squirrel found his acorn and ran home to stash it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  36. Margaret April 4, 2015 at 12:07 am #

    That was hilarious. Love the wordplay.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:30 am #

      Dear Margaret,

      Thank you for enjoying it and saying so.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  37. talesfromthemotherland April 4, 2015 at 1:16 am #

    Only a Hawaiian would think of that last line, Doug– hilarious! The use of “tromploy” really makes this dialogue that much more authentic. Sharp and clever; love it. Aloha!

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:31 am #

      Dear Dawn,

      I think you’re right about the Hawaiian thing. Lots of people are saying the phrase tickled them. Here it is as common as Do Chickens have Teeth? Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  38. siobhanmcnamara April 4, 2015 at 1:45 pm #

    I started smiling at the title and was laughing at the end. Brilliant from start to finish Doug. Thank you for this gift of a story :))))

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:32 am #

      Dear Siobhan,

      Thank you for the gift of such a nice comment. You keep my inkwell full and my pen poised. Many Mahalos.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  39. subroto April 4, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

    This was a great fun read.
    As always the internet is a treasure trove of facts
    http://aquaviews.net/explore-the-blue/the-wonderfully-wacky-world-underwater-do-fish-fart/

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:34 am #

      Dear Subroto,

      I’m glad that sand sharks fart, otherwise I would have had to rewrite. Saved by the internet. Thanks for the link and the comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  40. David Stewart April 5, 2015 at 1:06 am #

    You made me laugh with that last line, Doug. After all, what’s some purdy wall painting compared to 300K? You could buy a whole bag of tromploy with that kind of scratch. Great story, as always.
    -David

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:36 am #

      Dear David,

      I’m glad you were tickled by the sharks farting. Thanks for reading and letting me know what you thought. I continue to value your input. Don’t ever forget it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  41. milliethom April 6, 2015 at 10:45 am #

    Great word, ‘tromploy’ – and It fits the tone of your hilarious story so well. I’ll have to write the word down for future use! Brilliantly written, Doug, with a very appropriate title.

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:37 am #

      Dear Millie,

      I was surprised to find that people had actually used it before. The French pronunciation is so difficult. But it all worked, i guess. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  42. Inside the Mind of Isadora April 7, 2015 at 11:52 am #

    Dear Doug,
    This is a hoot. LOL I’ve had a really big belly laugh with this one.Thanks for the laughs. 😃
    As a retired artist, I know what “tromploy” is but you created a visual that is beyind words.
    Super write !!!!
    Adios,
    Isadora 😎

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:19 am #

      Dear Isadora,

      Do artists retire? I bet you still think in beautiful colors and deft brushstrokes. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Inside the Mind of Isadora April 8, 2015 at 7:11 pm #

        Dear Doug,
        No, I don’t think artists ever retire. We create in other ways. My mind is always thinking and creating in colors. I hope my words can paint a picture which is what I’m attempting to do. I’ve transferred some of the creativity from my jewelry days to photography and writing. So, I guess, I’ not retired. haha 😍
        Your welcome on reading your work. I enjoy your entries very much. They are always excellent.
        Adios,
        Isadora
        http://isadoraartandphotography.com/

  43. Ellespeth April 8, 2015 at 4:42 am #

    Hahaha!
    Ellespeth

    • dmmacilroy April 8, 2015 at 7:18 am #

      Dear Ellespeth,

      So glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  44. Sarah Potter Writes April 8, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    Dear Doug

    Lol A great story. Let’s hope a famous artist will come along and paint a tromploy on my house if I ever want to sell it at a huge profit.

    I thought you might like this video of a shark farting! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzTfT306A-o

    All best wishes
    Sarah

  45. Alice Audrey April 8, 2015 at 6:44 pm #

    I hadn’t even considered a tromploy. Good one.

Leave a Reply

