Last Line Lane, Speed Limit — Somewhere in the Eighties

12 Nov

100 words for the film buffs of Friday Fictioneers, directed by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, based on her photo prompt.

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 11.31.17 PM

(Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields)

Was that Gaff behind the hotdog stand?

It’s too bad she won’t live. But then again, who does?”

 

A pair of tawny tomcats rested in the shade on a second floor balcony.

Deny’s will like that. I must remember to tell him.”

 

Two men at a bus stop share a bottle of liquor.

Well, what do we do?”

Why don’t we just wait here a while and see what happens?”

 

Walking through Hollywood, memories come alive. Well, most of them.

One thing about living in Santa Carla I could never stomach. All the damn vampires.”

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 12.12.07 AMScreen Shot 2014-11-12 at 12.20.08 AMScreen Shot 2014-11-12 at 12.07.42 AMScreen Shot 2014-11-12 at 12.18.35 AM

53 Responses to “Last Line Lane, Speed Limit — Somewhere in the Eighties”

  1. rochellewisoff November 12, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    Dear Doug,

    Of all the Facebook pages, blogs and emails, you wrote your way into mine and I’m the better for it. Only you could weave a story in such a way without leaving bite marks. Week after week you show the rest of us how it’s done.

    I do wish we could chat longer, but…I’m having an old friend for dinner.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy November 12, 2014 at 10:48 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      The cars on that highway go both ways. Thanks for being there. (Friday Fictioneers is a state of mind.)

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. Sandra November 12, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

    Well I’ll be honest and say I’m totally foxed (geddit?) by this. I’m not an American and I’m not a film buff so maybe I never stood a chance anyway. 😦 It’s always lovely to see you in action though, and to know you’re out there.

    • sustainabilitea November 12, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

      Ditto that remark from me.

      janet

      • sustainabilitea November 12, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

        (Except for the “I’m not American” bit. 🙂

      • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 1:05 am #

        Dear Janet,

        I hear you and understand. One of the lures of Tinsel Town is the memories that the movies engender in us all so my riff on that theme, though weak, may still hit home for those who saw those films at that time. Kind of like hearing that old sweet song from our teens and thinking about love…

        Thanks for wading through this one.

        Aloha,

        Doug

      • talesfromthemotherland November 14, 2014 at 12:51 am #

        Double dog ditto their comments. I am a film buff and I got lost… man, you’re a wily one, Doug! I read it three times (I should probably not admit that!) and enjoyed it, but didn’t get it. I may have missed 1 or 2 of the referenced films. 😉

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 1:08 am #

      Dear Sandra,

      I’m glad to hear people saying, “I don’t get it!” My story, if you can call it that this week, is just a ramble down memory lane by some rube in Hollywood. Taking advantage of faithful readers to stay in the game. I should give out refunds.

      Thanks for coming to see what was showing. I’ll make it up to you in the long run.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. wmqcolby November 12, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    I think I get it, but I could use a little help. Is this guy passing through Hollywood thinking about all the movies that he’s seen?

    Still, I recognize good writing and it’s there, all right. A very enjoyable read.

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 1:02 am #

      Dear Kent,

      Yes, sir. Exactly. A weak effort this week. I think I should have stayed home…or titled it, A Rube goes to Hollywood. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. elmowrites November 12, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    I think my experience of the Eighties and the films thereof was probably a bit different from yours, Doug, and I’ll admit I’m going to have to look the references up. But that’s OK, if we write for everyone, we write for no one.

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 1:00 am #

      Dear Jennifer,

      I love your last line. As for my story, I think I should have written a disclaimer. It was a weak effort, but fun. Perhaps I should not have inflicted it on everyone. Still, the thought that some out there will recognize these movies and their last lines kept me going. I may find one or two of the hundred who saw all of them. Hard tellin’, not knowin’.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. Claire Fuller November 12, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

    I knew the first one straight off – love that film, but the others… not so sure.

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 12:50 am #

      Dear Claire,

      Find Out of Africa and enjoy. I think you will rely find a lot that resonates with you. Blade Runner you know and the others are just filler.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. lingeringvisions by Dawn November 12, 2014 at 4:04 pm #

    Aaahh the 80’s, wish I could remember them.

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 12:48 am #

      Dear Dawn,

      Roger that. I feel the same way about the seventies.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) November 12, 2014 at 8:19 pm #

    I must have seen totally different films in the 80s.. but still I do like the way you brought in all the characters.. Hollywood is a fantastic place…

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 12:41 am #

      Dear Bjorn,

      I hear you and totally understand. This was just my way of stitching together something for the prompt.

      Have you ever seen Jeg er Dina? Perhaps I should have had a Scandanavian edition.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. subroto November 12, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

    Here’s looking at your blogpost, Doug. Nice one.

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 12:33 am #

      Dear Subroto,

      Exactly!

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. aliciajamtaas November 13, 2014 at 12:02 am #

    Count me confused! How I wish I new what you’re referencing – I’m sure light bulbs would flash all across my mind!

    • dmmacilroy November 13, 2014 at 12:33 am #

      Dear Alicia,

      It’s just a ramble through a few of the eighties more iconic movies. A weak non-story, but a trip down memory lane for some. If you saw those movies, you’d recognize the last lines of each.

      Thanks for reading and putting up with my eccentricities.

      Aloha,

      Fouh

      • aliciajamtaas November 17, 2014 at 6:53 pm #

        Dear Fouh, I was doing archaeology in the eighties and was far from any movies, iconic or not. So . . . I miss a lot of what people are talking about when they reference media during those times.

  10. Suzanne Joshi November 13, 2014 at 8:44 am #

    Doug, I saw a little of Out of Africa on TV but not the whole thing. The vampire movie I remember well as it was a favorite of my son’s. I saw it more than once on TV and it was pretty good. I just can’t think of the name of it at the moment. The others I’m not sure of. Well written as always. 🙂 — Susan

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 3:48 am #

      Dear Susan,

      Thank you for reading and commenting so kindly. This vignette was fun to write but probably would end up on the cutting room floor in the real world. Call it 51% on the Rotten Tomatometer. Good enough to post but not going to win the Oscar.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. Suzanne Joshi November 13, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    It seems to me that the vampire movie was titled The Lost Boys.

  12. draliman November 13, 2014 at 1:32 pm #

    Great, after that last line I’ve got “Dum dum dum dum People are strange…” stuck in my head. At least I recognised one film (The Lost Boys is a favourite of mine)!

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 3:44 am #

      Dear Draliman,

      The Lost Boys was pure camp at its best. Good music and a great movie that didn’t take itself too seriously. The others were good, too, and are listed in my tags. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. Leona H - Shadow Strokes November 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm #

    I LOVED it! POV, perspective, hidden meaning. super-sharp hearing and the irony of the last comment. FUN!

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 3:42 am #

      Dear Leona,

      You are sweet to love my weak entry. Fun is a good word for what I was going for. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Leona H - Shadow Strokes November 16, 2014 at 3:54 pm #

        I would never call the strong imaginative POV you took on this picture weak. We all strive for perfection. Sometimes we get the creative, sometimes the dialogue, sometimes the words flow like magic; rarely do we get all of it. I’m finishing the works of Jack London and often as I digest each carefully constructed phrase I want to jump up and smash my treacherous keyboard to death!

        I’m sure he considered some of his stories weak, too. 😉

        ~Aloha

  14. storydivamg November 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm #

    Dear Doug,
    I must admit to feeling a bit lost until the last paragraph. That vamp line was one I could sink my teeth into. 🙂 Good perspective though. In so few words it’s difficult to be truly universal when it comes to the back lot.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 3:41 am #

      Dear Marie,

      I love how you turned your comment into a themed ride through the town. And I’m glad you liked the vampire line. I wish they’d all go back to sleep.

      Thanks for dropping by to read.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  15. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) November 14, 2014 at 2:44 am #

    I only really got No.2 but I don’t think I saw 3 and 4 and believe it or not, I’m not a huge fan of Blade Runner. But a very engaging post, skillful as usual,and I’m sick of all the damn vampires too!

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 3:37 am #

      Dear Perry,

      I’m heartened that you got my dig at the vampire crowd. At least back in the eighties the vampires were not all sparkly and pathetic. It is beginning to be interesting to hear who saw which film. All were iconic and worth a look if you ever get a free afternoon..

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. plaridel November 14, 2014 at 6:36 am #

    memories are made of these. thank you.

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 7:46 am #

      So they are. Thanks for reading.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. Bastet November 14, 2014 at 9:22 am #

    Dear Doug .. I really enjoyed this “sentimental journey” through some of the best films that Hollywood produced in that period! (I’ve seen Blade Runner in all of it’s manifestations such a great film!) Really enjoyed your post. Ciao, Georgia

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 9:45 am #

      Dear Georgia,

      I love you!

      Thanks for such a nice comment on my vignette.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Bastet November 14, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

        Ooooooo … You’ve turned my head! 😉

  18. rgayer55 November 14, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    As you might imagine, the only movies I remember lines from feature people like W.C. Fields, the Marx Bros., and Mel Brooks. Oh, and my personal favorite of course, “Dumb and Dumber.” To quote from Young Frankenstein – “Who’s brain was that anyway?” “Abby Someone” “Yes, I remember now. Abby Normal”

    • dmmacilroy November 14, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

      Dear Russell,

      Good movies all. One day I’ll get to watch them again for the first time. And for the record, Abby is my middle name and Marty Feldman is my alter ego.

      Thanks for dropping by, reading and commenting. See you next week.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. Amy Reese November 14, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

    This is genius, Doug. What a great way to capture and interweave some magical movie moments into a story. I’m probably most familiar with The Thing and Lost Boys. Now, I want to watch Blade Runner. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the whole movie. Shame on me. I have lots of gaps. I must try this idea some time. Thanks for the inspiration!

  20. Shailaja/ The Moving Quill November 15, 2014 at 3:58 am #

    I must admit I didn’t get it either. I thought they were vampires, then realised that can’t be it. Sorry, I guess I need to have some context to get this one. 😦

    I did like the voices, though. The flippant way they seem to dismiss people(?) or characters. Very believable.

    • dmmacilroy November 15, 2014 at 4:31 am #

      Dear Shailaja,

      The ‘story’ is composed of the last lines of four famous movies of the eighties (listed in my tags) as heard by a person walking down memory lane through Hollywood. The very last line, in addition to being the last line of The Lost Boys, is also a dig at all the vampire stories and writers that seem to just keep on proliferating on these pages and in popular ‘literature’ these days.

      The pictures are screen shots from each movie and were intended to jog the ‘memory’ of those readers who might have seen the movies thirty(ish) years ago.

      For someone that hasn’t seen the movies, yes, this vignette on a Hollywood street is not going to mean anything. Sorry about that. I haven’t heard from anyone who has seen all of them.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, and especially for not pretending to ‘get it’. If a story isn’t getting through to folks, I love hearing about it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  21. wildbilbo November 15, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    Ok – I’ll admit I didn’t ‘get it’ (which I hate), but *after* reading your responses, I *totally* get it now. Wandering through Hollywood, seeing a scene or thing that triggers a memory, brings a classic line to mind… very clever.

    I feel I really should have got it given the first classic line (I just finished reading “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” and need to see that movie again) – you definitely do the set up at that very early point.

    Also, given your sentence about memory, I think you could have come full circle in that last quote with:
    “All those moments will be lost in time… like tears in rain… Time to die.”

    Anyway – I was confused the first time I read it, read your clarification, and thoroughly enjoyed the second read.
    Cheers
    KT

    • dmmacilroy November 15, 2014 at 11:38 am #

      Hi KT,

      One hundred words always keeps me from nice full turn gymnastics like that, but the real reason I didn’t go there is that I used last lines only and I’ve written another Flash Fiction using Roy Batty’s soliloquy.

      For what it’s worth, I felt this ‘story’ just barely qualified for submission this week. Once I crossed the line, though, I committed to it and am okay with having to explain it after the fact.

      As I told Shailaja, I really like discussing the ‘why it didn’t come through right away’ reasons with fellow writers, rather than getting a polite “Oh, neat story.” from whomever.

      I appreciate the dialog and the input and am going to try to come up with a better story for next week.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  22. Honie Briggs November 15, 2014 at 8:52 pm #

    You are some kinda mega movie buff. I’m with Sandra and Janet and Dawn. Foxed, but I’ll have the jumbo size popcorn with extra butter and the bladder buster for the terrific comment matinee. Of course, I’m Abby Normal too.

  23. Margaret November 15, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    What a great idea – and your title should have helped us to pick up on the concept. I’d love to read this as a longer piece.

  24. Sarah Ann November 16, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

    Love the way you wove these lines/ riffs together, especially the last one and the memories not always coming alive. Very clever.

  25. Snow's Fissures and Fractures November 17, 2014 at 7:02 pm #

    You had me at Blade Runner. Very clever story, nicely crafted.

  26. Nan Falkner November 18, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

    Dear Doug, Great ideas – but – heck I’m lost too! I have my favorite movies from the 70’s & 80’s too: “Goonies”, “Murder By Death”, “Kelly’s Heroes” are a few. I have read it four times and all the comments. Oh well, It’s cold here and I think I have a “Brain Freeze.” Nan 🙂

  27. Ellespeth November 19, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    I’m late this week 😦 Life caught up with me but…
    Well, this sorta reminds me of what one would hear while walking down a Hollywood street at night. Little bits of conversation. Great hot dogs!
    Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

