Going Disc Golfing

18 Jun

There’s only one thing I love more than writing and that’s Disc Golfing. I try not to go on about it lest the very mention of the sport turn into something like this….

Disc golf

…but I’m off to the mainland tomorrow to compete in the (Halt and the Lame Division) 32nd annual Kansas City Wide Open Disc Golf Championship. The following weekend I’ll travel east to Jefferson City, MO. to play in the 30th annual Mid-America Open (Same division). In my brain the two weekends will look and feel sort of like this (a shot which resulted in a birdie)…

Going disc golfing

…but that’s another story…

Disc golf stories

…and I just wanted to let my regular readers (to whom I am quietly grateful and deeply indebted in ways they may never know) where I’ve disappeared to for the next two weeks. I’ll be back with some swag and two trophies (That’s the spirit, laddie!) and some blah, blah, blah-bitty-blah, disc golf stories to share.

Aloha,

Doug

11 Responses to “Going Disc Golfing”

  1. Dee June 18, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    Dear Doug

    I’ve been absent (with no note to teacher) for the past two weeks. Work has been hectic blah-blah-blah but then last week I went off to sunny Spain for a week of relaxation.

    I had a lovely time and it was good to have a change of scenery which I hope you enjoy too.

    Look forward to catching up when you return, loaded down with trophies, swag and many stories to tell.

    Take care and great Disc Golfing!
    Dee

    • dmmacilroy June 18, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

      Dear Dee,

      How was Spain? Rejuvenating? It sounds as though the break was exactly what you needed. (I’ll write you a note whenever you need one.)

      Thanks for the good wishes.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Dee June 18, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

        Dear Doug

        I enjoyed the beautiful sunshine, no clouds or rain for a whole week, something we are not used to here in mainly wet Wales!!

        The food was good as was the vino, so yes, I’d say it was rejuvenating.

        May need that note one day!!

        Dee

  2. Sandra June 18, 2014 at 2:40 pm #

    For the second time today you’ve driven me into the arms of Google; the first was to translate your response to my comment to your FF submission (in case you were swearing at me) and now to see what disc golfing is all about. Hmmm. And I’d thought that was a halo that was homing in on you… Enjoy my friend.

  3. elmowrites June 18, 2014 at 3:14 pm #

    Blah blah blah blah, sorry, were you talking? I thought it was just the washing machine droning on. Something about golf? Lovely. Press on.

    Safe travels and aloha, my friend.
    Jen

    PS That picture is class. Should be a FF prompt. No, really, it should.

    • rochellewisoff June 18, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

      It could be arranged. Bwa-ha-ha.

      • elmowrites June 19, 2014 at 2:13 am #

        Do it! Do it while he’s away and can’t argue. Oh, no, you’re away too. But another time…

  4. tedstrutz June 18, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    You Come, You Go… We’re used to it. We expect a full account complete with photos.

    Hmmm… Big Mo… getting awfully close to ‘you know who’.

    Have fun and good luck with you discs… the ones you throw and the ones in your back.

  5. MythRider June 18, 2014 at 10:53 pm #

    Have lots of fun. Take good care of that arm, and get a few hole in ones.

    Looking forward to some pictures of the event. ;0)

  6. rochellewisoff June 19, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    Dear Doug,

    Safe travels as you wend your way to the hot, humid Midwest. Drink lots of water. And while you’re at it, can I get a disc wrote on?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. pattisj June 19, 2014 at 5:38 am #

    My niece’s family plays disc golf. Hope you have a great time!

Leave a Reply

