Two Wolves and a Sheep vote on what to have for Dinner

14 May

A 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers, a restive flock of writers shepherded loosely by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, based on the photo prompt below provided by Sandra Crook.

This is a story that has been written many times. To prove my point there are at least four clues in this version that point to a previous incarnation. If you find them all I challenge you to then examine the events of the last fifteen years with the same attention to detail. Then return to your grazing.

 

Two wolves and a sheep vote....

.

Heinrich Luitpold, head of the DHS Border and Transportation Security Directorate sat in the back of his bullet-proof BMW and smiled as his driver fumed. The conference recently held in headquarters suite 1-C had yielded an action plan that would lead at last to a final solution.

In 2019 increased fees charged by TSA to travelers would finance new uniforms and prominent, respect worthy badges. By 2022 agents would be given arrest powers and weapons. In 2025 the mandatory registration and RFID chipping of all citizens would commence.

“Relax, Franz,” said Heinrich, “We are no longer concerned with the sheep.”

 

End game

 

The Department of Homeland Security Border and Transportation Security Directorate is the actual name of a department of our government.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” – Edmund Burke

“Don’t rejoice in his defeat, you men. For though the world stood up and stopped the Bastard, the Bitch that bore him is in heat again.” – Bertold Brecht

 

 

HeadsTails

 

 

 

 

 

52 Responses to “Two Wolves and a Sheep vote on what to have for Dinner”

  1. Gunn's Cabin Fever May 14, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    A tour de force, monsieur again. Your tale reaches very far. A different echelon, I am, when I arrive here. Very well done, and message was clear and well-received.

    • dmmacilroy May 14, 2014 at 12:08 pm #

      Dear Managua,

      Thank you, sir. I appreciate you dropping by to read. I visited your story and loved it, but for the life of me could not find my way in to a space that would let me comment. What am I missing? (Besides some gray matter?)

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Gunn's Cabin Fever May 14, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

        The one missing grey matter is here! I just like hiding alone there sometimes, looking for a world outside wordpress. I’ll try to figure it out, thought commenting was possible, but have a hard enough job finding comments when they’re made there…just my kind of place! The folks who run the site are Polish and friendly so I try to get them known a bit. Thanks!

  2. David Stewart May 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    Doug,
    it can be a slippery slope from benign administrations to scary powers. I think we’ve seen that enough with the CIA and NSA. I wrote a novel set in the near future with a situation something like this, everything but the RFID tags. (By the way, when I saw your InLinkz icon, the first thing I thought was “Multipass!” Great movie.)
    -David

  3. Sandra May 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    Loved not only the story, not only the title, but the quotes as well, particularly Brecht. Your site is always a good place to call. Over here of course we are nannying our population into oblivion …

    • Sandra May 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

      Oh and I finally found my way into Hamish’s site, so that’s good news for the grey matter. 🙂

  4. elmowrites May 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    Now then, Doug, I thought we’d agreed on a HAPPY story this week?! This one’s possibly bleaker than the last! I read the title and thought maybe we’d be getting a fable, and I guess we did. Lovely clues too (lovely isn’t the word I wanted, but you know what I mean).
    Tiny concrit – I think respect-worthy should be hyphenated
    Now, next week, will I get my smile?
    Best,
    Jennifer

  5. elmowrites May 14, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    PS I don’t see you on the linkup…

  6. Helena Hann-Basquiat May 14, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

    OH, those quotes! Sorry, Doug, your words were wonderful, too — especially the title — but that Brecht quote just says it all. Every time there’s an election, I can’t help but think of a snippet of lyric from The Who “Meet the new boss, same as the old boss.”
    We keep saying we won’t get fooled again, and yet here we are…

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:35 am #

      Dear Helena,

      Getting caught up up here. sorry for the delay in thanking you. I appreciate your input. Keeps me fighting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. Snow's Fissures and Fractures May 14, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

    We run in circles, repeating our mistakes over and over…I guess the bitch is always in heat.

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:36 am #

      Well observed and well said. Thanks for reading this piece.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. billgncs May 14, 2014 at 6:59 pm #

    I suppose sheep are comfortable up to the butchering…

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:36 am #

      Yes, we are, aren’t we….sort of.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. rUn A mUcK May 14, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    As always, haunting with a dash of sinister humor. It all happens so gradually we won’t know til the microchip’s implanted. Thanks for keeping us awake. Marvelously written, Uncle D.

    Write on.

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:33 am #

      Dear Muck,

      Thanks for stopping by and reading. At least the microchip will help you be tracked during your ultra-marathons. I hope you and Kelsea are doing well and prospering.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. Nan Falkner May 14, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

    Dear Doug, I guess the moral is we never learn from our mistakes. We think we will, we say we will, we yell that we will, but we don’t. I guess we get what we deserve. Why do people believe political hype? Because they want to. Good story, well written, darn it. Nan 🙂

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:37 am #

      Dear Nan,

      I’m sorry I took so long to thank you for your kind comment on Two Wolves… I appreciate your feedback and insight.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. rochellewisoff May 14, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

    Dear Doug,

    Methinks the Bitch is prepared to whelp.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy May 15, 2014 at 1:20 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      How nice to see your hair.

      Big litter, too.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • rochellewisoff May 19, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

        Dear Doug,

        Hair today, same hair tomorrow.

        Shalom-aloha,

        Rochelle

  12. aliciajamtaas May 15, 2014 at 3:16 am #

    chipping of all citizens would commence. Yikes. An advanced repeat of history. Very chilling, Doug.

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:04 am #

      Dear Alicia,

      See you in the freezer. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. patriciaruthsusan May 15, 2014 at 7:07 am #

    Doug, You may complain about the U.S., but after living in India, give me the U.S. every time. I didn’t fully appreciate it until I came here to live. Some people in India would be perfectly at home in the Dark Ages and that includes some of the more educated people. Common sense seems to be rare. That was a well-written piece however. —Susan

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:07 am #

      Dear Susan,

      Thanks for the comments. I hope you can steer clear of those that prefer the Dark Ages. I remember flying there and was suitably impressed with the guards with machine guns in airport security. Still and all, though, I prefer not to be treated like a slave/consumer/tax payer prole by my ‘government’. And yes, common sense isn’t common.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  14. misskzebra May 15, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    I’ve commented along similar lines before, but as someone who loves books, it is easy to forget that versions of the brutal/controlling/Orwellian societies that we read about have existed and do exist in other parts of the world. Humans are so capable of allowing these things to happen, and ordinary human beings are capable of justifying so much.

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:12 am #

      Dear MKZ,

      And it’s all coming round again…. Good luck wherever you end up.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  15. patrickprinsloo May 15, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

    Nightmare story, probably happening in some countries as we speak and will in our countries if we don’t speak.

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:09 am #

      Dear Patrick,

      Seems to be happening here whether we speak or not, and all the more quickly if we do. Good luck.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) May 16, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Yes the dystopian dream of total control.. so many variants on doing it… but I guess the technology aspects already applies.. at least for sheep in the EU that have to be marked with an RFID chip.. I always knew that sheep where ahead of humans,

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:11 am #

      Dear Bjorn,

      Livestock leading the way. Gotta love it. Maybe we can learn something from them. Like ‘don’t look up’. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. Jan Brown May 16, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    When we embed chips in our livestock and pets, can humans be far behind?

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:03 am #

      Dear Jan,

      Humans are behind the curve and it is too late now to stop the next cycle of learning the truth. Good luck and thanks for all the fish….I mean, thanks for commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. ContactRida May 17, 2014 at 3:17 am #

    great tale! but why would we need a chip when our smartphones broadcast our locations? OR we post our every activity on Facebook. humans are sheep…

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 9:00 am #

      Dear CR,

      If it was my choice I’d be okay with it, but my choices are seemingly not in line with the rest of the flock. Time to buy a boat. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. wmqcolby May 17, 2014 at 3:22 am #

    Stupid sheeple. It’s been going on for years, no sign of stopping. Good story.

    • dmmacilroy May 17, 2014 at 8:58 am #

      Dear Kent,

      The comments on this story lead me to believe that most people are content to be sheep. Wow. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  20. rgayer55 May 18, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    Mutton, it’s what’s for dinner. Who was it that said to remain free you must have a revolution every 200 years?

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:39 am #

      Dear Russell,

      Whoever said it was right. i think we’re about 38 years overdue.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  21. MythRider May 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

    Doug, It’s life – never ending. For good or evil, that what makes the world go round.
    It’s how we respond to it that matters.
    Good take on the photo.
    Blessings,
    Phyllis

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:40 am #

      Dear Phyllis,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I’m going to respond poorly.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  22. elappleby May 18, 2014 at 3:23 pm #

    I feel a little lectured (if I’m honest), but also a little scared by your vision of the future. Over here we don’t even have compulsory ID cards (yet), so are further away from your dystopia than many, but it still scares me that we seem so willing to give up our basic rights, supposedly to protect us from a greater evil.
    An incredibly thought provoking post this week. i’m going to go and have a cup of tea and think about it some more.

    • dmmacilroy May 27, 2014 at 11:10 am #

      Dear El,

      I didn’t mean to lecture, but I did mean to shake people up. I don’t know why I care if they don’t. Perhaps it’s the shepherd in me.

      (I recently discovered that WordPress routinely routes all your comments into my spam file, so forgive me if I have seemed aloof of late. I will work on rearranging their priorities.)

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • elappleby May 29, 2014 at 6:56 am #

        Hi Doug
        It’s good to be lectured sometimes – I didn’t mind really! The spam issue is at my end – my lousy internet provider TalkTalk was messing things up. I’m now with a new provider so hopefully no more problems. Thanks for taking the time to check your spam folder.

  23. Amy Reese May 18, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    Dear Doug,
    Some exquisite writing. Your opening sentence pulled me in right away and I loved your tie in to the sheep in the end. The chipping has me feeling the most uneasy. Chilling piece.
    Aloha,
    Amy

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:41 am #

      Dear Amy,

      I hope you are one of the few who escape and start a new country in the Australian outback. I’ll be there. Look me up. Thanks for the kind words on Two Wolves. i appreciate it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  24. Dreamer of Dreams May 18, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    Whoomph! That knocked the wind out of me. I saw it coming, and yet, I felt shell-shocked. And those quotes — those are perfect. The last one, typically Brecht in its tone, was brutal and brilliant.
    There is NO difference between certain departments back in Nazi Germany and what was begun by the Bush government over ten years ago.
    (At least we don’t have an *actual* ministry of propaganda, with a Goebbels!)

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:43 am #

      Dear DoD,

      You’re right on the mark about the Ministry pot Propaganda. CNN and Faux News serve rather well though, don’t you think. I appreciate you comments on Two Wolves…

      Aloha,

      Doug

  25. storydivamg May 18, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

    “Papers please” laws are always scary. My blond-haired, blue-eyed wife jokes occasionally with our dark-skinned Hispanic neighbors who are US citizens. She says, “Warn me if immigration comes by. I’m Canadian.” 🙂 Gallows humor often gets us by these days.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:44 am #

      Dear Marie,

      Makes me glad I’m going to shuffle off this mortal coil sometime in the next 300 years or so. I’m moving to New Zealand whether they’ll have me or not. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  26. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy) May 19, 2014 at 10:06 am #

    I’m late to the party this week due to being tied up (no, not literally) on Friday.

    Really, I think it’s all been said – so just to add a “well done” (is it ever not?) and that I’m glad you took part in the same week that we did (we’re sheeps passing in the night, usually!)

    • dmmacilroy May 22, 2014 at 5:46 am #

      Dear Joanna,

      Turnabout is fair play, right? I’m late thanking you for your input and insight. Don’t think baaaaadly of me.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

