Nocturne

23 Oct

100 words for Friday Fictioneers, an orchestra composed of guest writers from various symphonies around the world who each week use a photo for inspiration in a flash fiction composition. This weeks prompt was provided by the lady on the podium, baton at the ready, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who has recently completed her first year in the conductor’s position. (Congratulations, Maestro.)

 

Out of loss and loneliness, ecstatic transportation and catharsis. The heart yearns and fingers fly across the keys. Nightsong.

 

 

Christian'sKeyboard

 

He played though there was no one to listen.

Con dolore, because she was gone.

With abandon because that is what he felt during their short time together.

Con amore, because he loved her still.

He played so hard that he’d gone through three keyboards since her heart began a duet with another.

His best music, played to the night, unheard by her.

He played Edward the Mad Shirt Grinder because he could get lost in Nicky Hopkins’ wondrous melody as he imagined her dancing free under the stars.

He loved her still.

He played because he was so alone.

 

 

marooned piano

Edward the Mad Shirt Grinder

(not recommended for those that won’t like it)

106 Responses to “Nocturne”

  1. rochellewisoff October 23, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Dear Doug,

    Once more you’ve waxed poetic and we, the readers, reap the benefits. With love and with pain, your words go beyond the superficial to the depth of human emotion. An exquisite read that will linger in my heart for some time to come.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy October 23, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      Thank you for dropping in to read and comment. Your keen eye reminds me to keep my nib sharp and my imagination focused. This story comes from the heart and I am glad to be able to write it. My heart is full of love and music.

      No rain, no rainbows.

      Thanks for being such a good friend.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. Sandra October 23, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    Rochelle said it all, I think. I feel his pain.

    • dmmacilroy October 23, 2013 at 11:07 am #

      Dear Sandra,

      Rochelle’s hogging all the words again?

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. paulscribbles October 23, 2013 at 11:52 am #

    Powerful and emotive words indeed. Whilst I hear the sadness in the loss brought about by the breakup, I also hear how the music is an escape, a way of throwing himself into the grief of solitude…and maybe, just maybe, the music is better for it?

    • dmmacilroy October 23, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

      Dear Paul,

      Exactly my feeling. We are always the richer for the power of love.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • paulscribbles October 23, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

        Aloha.

  4. kz October 23, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    very powerful. i really felt the man’s pain. an exquisite read — i agree with rochelle 🙂

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:00 am #

      Dear Kz,

      Thanks for taking the time to say so.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. gingerpoetry October 23, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    Dear Doug,
    I just love it – I felt all the loneliness as if it was my own -but still he has got the music, that´s the light at the end of the tunnel.
    Liebe Grüße
    Carmen

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:03 am #

      Dear Carmen,

      Thank you for your kind comments. The music (and for me, the music of writing) is what keeps him grounded.

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. David Stewart October 23, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    Music is a great catharsis for pain. I felt like I was on the journey with him.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:05 am #

      Dear David,

      Than you, sir. I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. sustainabilitea October 23, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    In addition to all the comments already made by those in more advantageous time zones or on much earlier schedules, I would add that he should be thankful to have as David said, the catharsis of music. If everyone had some sort of constructive outlet for expressing pain, the world would be a much better place and much less dangerous. Beautifully written as usual, Doug.

    Just a last thought– playing even “though there was no one to listen” is also the mark of what you love, that you’ll do it even when alone, if unappreciated, if in pain, when feeling joy.

    janet

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:15 am #

      Dear Janet,

      You are so right about the need for a peaceful outlet for pain. For me, it is writing. For others, I’ve no clue, but I am glad I have the relief valve of words and paper.

      And yes, I also write at all other times. I’m fortunate to have someone like you to read my work. Thank you for listening.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. Indira October 23, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    You expressed his loneliness so impressively, I too can feel his pain. Loved the last line and beautiful words ‘No rain, no rainbows.’

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:16 am #

      Dear Indira,

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. misskzebra October 23, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    I think loneliness can invoke the kind of desperation which causes you to take risks with your creative work, risks which pay off because they’re guided by such powerful emotions.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:26 am #

      Dear Misskzebra,

      You are very perceptive. Some of Winslow Homer’s most amazing paintings came from his dark period in the 1870’s following some ‘disappointments’ with women.

      Hard way to go, but often the results are magnificent.

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. mike olley October 23, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    You can almost hear the echo of his haunting melody. Powerful words.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:27 am #

      Dear Mike,

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. elmowrites October 23, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I enjoyed the balance in this piece, Doug – relentless yet measured in its path to the inevitable conclusion. This is a man who has known how broken a heart can be. He needs a new song to lift him up.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:32 am #

      Dear Jennifer,

      The song of life will have to do. I’m happy that you noticed the cadence in this piece. I was thinking music (though that could just have easily been a disaster since I know little on that subject) when I composed it, trying to infuse the story with some sort of rhythm.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. It is always nice to hear from you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  12. DCTdesigns October 23, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    You evoke such a sense of longing and sadness for a love lost. I think perhaps it is time for him to try an new melody but we artists tend to immerse ourselves completely in whatever we do. Lovely story.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:39 am #

      Dear Dana,

      You read him perfectly. Must be the artist in you.

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. lingeringvisions by Dawn October 23, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    Music says what the heart longs to. I can hear it in this piece.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:40 am #

      Dear Dawn,

      Thanks for listening and hearing the song in this piece.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  14. singleworkingmomswm October 23, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I really love the melancholy of this….XOXO-SWM

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:43 am #

      Dear SWM,

      Thanks for enjoying. (and for the X’s and O’s.)

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  15. moondustwriter October 23, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    a good outlet for pain
    beautifully written Doug

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:44 am #

      Dear MDW,

      Mahalo for saying so.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. ly October 24, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    heart began a duet with another–love that line.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:45 am #

      Dear Laura,

      Mahalo for singling out that line to listen to.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. pattisj October 24, 2013 at 3:54 am #

    Great intro piece, Doug. Yes, I can see Rochelle conducting with her baton, and she’s doing it quite well. I liked the poetic feel of your 100 words, and the depth of the emotion revealed.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:49 am #

      Dear Patti,

      Thanks for your kind words. Rochelle is the perfect conductor, isn’t she? I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) October 24, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    Lovely and stuck a chord with me. Nicky Hopkins dead at only 50. Very well written and haunting.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 2:51 am #

      Dear Perry,

      I’m glad you enjoyed this piece. I’d love to have heard what a seventy year old Hopkins could have produced. We’ll never know, but man, oh man, we can imagine.

      I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. valeriedavies October 24, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    Nobody does it like you ! Lovely, the allusive vocabulary you used, linking musical terms to the story, and how beautiful, con dolores, con amore…. she was mad to leave this chap !!!

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 3:03 am #

      Dearest Valerie,

      Answered prayers and unanswered prayers. Who knows where we’re headed or whom we’ll meet and come to love along the way? No one can ever know what the fates hold in store for us.

      What I do know is that I am so very fortunate to have met you and am blessed to have you in my corner. Knowing that your eyes are on what I write is a constant source of inspiration.

      Kia Ora,

      Doug

  20. claireful October 24, 2013 at 7:19 am #

    Written by someone who’s felt this loss before? It certainly read like it. Beautiful.
    Claire

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 5:17 am #

      Dear Claire,

      I cannot imagine how anyone can reach my age without having felt this loss at least once. It could be that those that have felt it, recognize it when they see it.

      Thank you for reading and commenting with such kindness.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  21. sandraconner October 24, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    ” … since her heart began a duet with another.” That line alone is worth the read. That’s one of those treasures of the written word that one wants to keep and just bring out every now and then and enjoy.

    Wow, you’ve captured this experience perfectly. I’ve been a musician almost all my life, and almost every time I’ve found myself in the depths of pain — over any kind of loss — I’ve turned to making music, and it never failed me.

    The other section that grabbed me was, “His best music, played to the night” and “He played because he was so alone.” I’ve always believed that the true experience of making love involves the giving and receiving of at least part of one’s soul. And when robbed of a person to pour that soul into, the true musician makes love to the music itself. That’s how he gets his best music.

    I even wrote an entire novel once based on the premise that the hero, who loved so deeply but could not release that love, created music so filled with his emotion and passion that the music itself finally opened all the doors to having the one his heart desired.

    So, yep, I like this piece.

    • dmmacilroy October 28, 2013 at 9:36 am #

      Dear Sandra,

      Well, I have to tell you that I love reading your comments. They are so detailed and personal and uplifting. (Don’t stop.) (Please.)

      I love knowing that you are a musician and that my story resonated with you. I channeled how I feel about writing into how my protagonist felt about music. The common denominator was love and loss. It seemed to work.

      I’ve decided to do some research and find your novels and read them, just to learn more about you.

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • sandraconner October 28, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

        Hi, Doug. I’m glad if my comments can be encouraging. I’ve been a teacher and a minister all my life, and my goal in both of those capacities has been to nourish, edify, and energize to continue reaching what lies ahead. Of course, in that work, there has been a good deal of editorial work – which naturally includes making corrections. But one of the greatest delights in my life has been to see students or parishioners reach the next level of their dream and their goals. I’ve been very blessed to have those opportunities.

        It’s very kind of you to want to read some of my other work. I should tell you, however, knowing that you have expressed a certain degree of reserve where religious things are concerned, that most of my writing is the result of what I personally believe is merely another outreach of my work for the Lord. I believe He called me to write. My work includes both non-fiction teaching/inspirational books and inspirational fiction. My goal in the fiction, of course, is to try to help people come to know Jesus Christ better as a person who is genuinely in love with them and who wants to be real in their every-day lives. Scores of readers have shared with me that they have experienced that effect from the work, and I’m happy about it.

        On the other side of that coin, I often tell my creative writing students that they need to remember a very important truth: No author writes a book that everyone will like. I teach them to find their personal audience and write for them. That’s what I do. Am I saying that you will not like them? Not at all. I think you will like some things about them, but I wanted you to be prepared for their fairly heavy faith undercurrents.

        There are three complete novels online for a free read, and the links to those are found on my Home page on the blog – in the right-side widget column. There is one novel, not listed on that page, that offers the first three chapters free, and I’ll insert the link to that page right here. You must click on the “Quenton’s Honor” book cover when you get there.
        http://stellenpress.com/readnow.html

        Blessings on you.
        Sandra

  22. summerstommy2 October 24, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Great piece of music Doug, and lovely 100 words.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Dear Summerstommy,

      Thank you for saying so.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  23. Helena Hann-Basquiat October 24, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    I confess I had to look him up, darling — and realize that I’ve obviously heard him, with his impressive resume, but had never actually heard Quicksilver Messenger Service. I liked the repeated phrasing in this piece… it actually gives the piece a rhythm that lends well to the subject matter.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      Dear Helena,

      Have I told you how much your story moved me? Well, let me take the time to do it again. Absolutely fantastic.

      (And thanks for reading and commenting on mine. I’m glad Nicky’s keyboard work seemed to fit the story for you.)

      Aloha,

      Doug

  24. talesfromthemotherland October 24, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Wow, Doug…just wow. Your phrasing and heartfelt tone are beautiful here! You totally pulled me in and I was lost in the story; hard to believe it was only 100 words! I also love that I listened to some amazing music I’d never heard. QMS– very cool. I generally follow a lot of musicians, but this was entirely new for me; and then Nicky Hopkins, another new discovery. The Con dolore, con amore… delicious! Love, love, love this one.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Dear Dawn,

      Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your kind comments. I’m glad you enjoyed both the story and Nicky Hopkins’ performance. Kind of brilliant, I’ve thought since first hearing it so long ago.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  25. EagleAye October 24, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

    A beautiful poem. This should be put to music. It conveys the feelings of the heart so well. I’m listening to the music right now. Love it! Haven’t heard anyone mention Quicksilver Messenger Service in a very long time. So cool. This is a great song.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:31 am #

      Dear EA,

      Thank for sharing your thoughts on Nocturne. Nicky was out of his mind amazing. Blast from the past, eh?

      Aloha,

      Doug

  26. vbholmes October 24, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Pounding the keyboard is much better for body and soul than pounding the wall. Heartfelt emotions beautifully expressed, Doug–and thanks for the musical bennie.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Dear VB,

      You’re right about that. Thanks and you’re welcome.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  27. bridgesareforburning October 24, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

    Hi Doug,
    I think this story has a strong theme, something like that the arts, writing, music, art in general, can be a great place to go and try to unburden and I think some of my favorite artists from various media have been driven by the demons of loss. I don’t think this is the only force behind creative endeavors, but it’s reassuring to know there’s an outlet for life’s trials and tribulations. Beautifully written, of course, but I’ve come to take that for granted from you. Ron

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:39 am #

      Dear Ron,

      As ever, your comments are insightful and make me want to keep writing stories that strike a chord with you. For me it’s writing that gets to my heart, composition and passion-wise, but I’d give my left arm to be ambidextrous, music-wise.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  28. Madison Woods October 24, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Your story is melodious, has tempo and heartfelt passion. Excellent, Doug.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:40 am #

      Dear Madison,

      Thanks for dropping by on the anniversary. Your baby is in good hands, but we miss you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  29. elappleby October 24, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

    Sad and beautiful 🙂

  30. Jan Brown October 24, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Doug, this was beautiful, and the music was, too! Between Rochelle’s story about Moog, and your Quicksilver Messenger piece, I am conjuring up all kinds of memories from my long lost youth 🙂

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Dear Jan,

      Thanks for listening, reading and reminiscing.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  31. JackieP October 24, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    I loved this as many others have. I can’t play music but I can and do appreciate it.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:43 am #

      Dear Jackie,

      We’re in the same boat. Thanks for listening.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  32. freyathewriter October 24, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    Oh this is so sad, and so beautifully written. Well done! 🙂

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Dear Freya,

      Thank you for saying so.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  33. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy) October 25, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Simply beautiful. But how wonderful to have something – music, writing, painting – in which we can lose ourselves and express the powerful emotions which flow through us.

    Always a pleasure to visit here, Doug! Aloha!

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      Dear Joanna,

      Thank you. I love having you visit and comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  34. unspywriter October 25, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    This reads like a sadly romantic poem, and there’s something to be said for his constancy. Very sweet and sad.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/noisy-ghost/

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Dear Maggie,

      Constantly mad, never-endingly alone. This guy’s going to wear out more keyboards before time heals his wounds.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  35. seanfallon01 October 25, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Powerful stuff and I followed the link and thought the song was awesome and so did my students (2nd grade) who listened to it while doing some Friday afternoon colouring pages. Thanks.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      Dear Sean,

      It is so cool that you shared Edward with your student and even cooler that they liked it. It is a driving, infectious arrangement and Nicky performing it just adds that much more power to it. Kids know.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  36. denmother October 25, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    Wow. That was an incredible read.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:53 am #

      Dear Denmother,

      Thank you for saying so. I appreciate you visiting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  37. Evelyn Wagoner October 25, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    This is the first time I’ve read your writing. Thank you for a few moments of beauty and tenderness in the middle of a messy morning. I’ll be back.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      Dear Evelyn,

      Sorry to take so very long answering your kind comment. I hope your messy morning resolved itself and that the music lingered longer.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I look forward to reading lots more of your stories here.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  38. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) October 25, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    The music might be the only thing keeping you upright in loneliness… a great story of melancholy and sadness (with just a little bit of hope)

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      Dear Bjorn,

      Thank you, sir, for reading and sharing. There’s always hope.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  39. The Bumble Files October 26, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    Doug,
    Your story left me breathless. It’s wonderfully composed and crafted. And then, Nicky Hopkins comes out of nowhere to add another layer. You’ve shown us how it’s done once again. It’s both sad and tender. I really enjoyed this one.
    Amy

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      Dear Amy,

      I ‘m glad you enjoyed the story and Nicky’s mad playing. Edward has stuck with me for a long, long time. It was nice to be able to include him in the story.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  40. Lindaura Glamoura October 26, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    Echoing the strings of your heart, it was a beautiful story and yes, the addition of Nicky Hopkins to any story of the last half of the 20th century, can only add a layer of nostalgia for those who paid attention to the music, too.
    X from Athens,
    Lindaura

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      Dear Lindaura,

      An insightful comment. Thank you. I’m glad you knew Nicky and his sweet, wild sound.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  41. annisik51 October 26, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    Deeply moving, Doug. Oh and an arrow to the heart. What you’ve written, for me, says music comes when all else fails. If I change every ‘played’ in your story for ‘sang’ it’s me. It was after my Richter 8 that I ‘accidentally’ came to singing. I sometimes call it my Ginsberg Howling! But my earthquake had a happier ending. Hugs and howls to you. Ann

    • dmmacilroy October 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

      Dear Ann,

      I want to hear more. I’m glad that Nocturne resonated with you and that you have a special connection to singing and the release that can be achieved through giving yourself entirely to it.

      Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • annisik51 October 26, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

        I listened to your You Tube music. I liked the first bit especially, with those gorgeous tinkling high piano notes, like waterfalls.I’m making my second debut (?) in a concert 30 November. Singing Canteloube’s ‘La Pastourelle’ (from his Songs of the Auvergne). I listened to your You Tube music. I liked the first bit especially, with those gorgeous tinkling high piano cascades.
        I listened to your You Tube music. I liked the first bit especially, with those gorgeous tinkling high piano cascades.

  42. Steve Lakey October 26, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Incredibly powerful, Doug.

    • dmmacilroy October 26, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Dear Steve,

      Thanks for dropping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  43. rgayer55 October 26, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Another excellent piece, Doug. Both music and poetry are great creative outlets when one is feeling blue. The emotion really came through in this one.

    • dmmacilroy October 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      Dear Russell,

      Thank you, Sir.

      You are always on my mind as I try to produce one hundred words that will pass muster with the readers of FF. I do wish I could play music. It is a language I understand but cannot speak.

      I appreciate you visiting and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  44. anelephantcant October 26, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    Achingly artistic, painfully poetic.
    AnElephant loves this piece.

    • dmmacilroy October 26, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Dear AEC,

      Thanks for chiming in. I appreciate it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  45. plaridel October 27, 2013 at 12:48 am #

    I read it as poetry. very nice.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      Dear Sir,

      Mahalo for reading it at all. I appreciate your presence here.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  46. draliman October 27, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    Lovely piece. At least the poor chap had an outlet for his pain.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:11 am #

      Dear Draliman,

      Mahalo, Sir.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  47. Eena October 27, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    A melody that stirs a tempest of emotions.
    This reminds me of my loyal guitar, a companion through teenage and probably more shallow heartaches than yours.
    May song, breath, light, and love fill this void for you.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Dear Eena,

      I love that you are a musician and are, perhaps, more in touch with what I was trying to convey than even I. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  48. dreaminofobx October 27, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    *sigh* It’s a great tribute to your writing skill that just 100 words leave me so emotionally wrung out that I can’t compose a coherent comment. For me, the most powerful piece of this week’s collection. Well done.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      Dear Michelle,

      You fuel me with your sweet compliment. Thank you for that very coherent comment. It males me smile every time I read it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • dreaminofobx October 31, 2013 at 3:34 am #

        Ahhh, it’s a good day if I’ve made someone smile!

  49. MissTiffany October 28, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    OH, I think this is my favorite entry I’ve read so far for this week’s Friday Fictioneers! This is just beautiful. Puts me in mind of the Phantom of the Opera. I imagine this is now he must have felt after Christine left with Raoul…
    Brava. Well done.

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Dear Miss Tiffany,

      Thank you for the praise. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know my story resonated with you. Now I have to go watch Phantom of the Opera.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • MissTiffany October 30, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

        You’re welcome Doug! If you do watch it, I hope you’ll enjoy it!

  50. Linda Vernon October 28, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    Doug, your writing blows me away each and every week!

    • dmmacilroy October 30, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      Dear Linda,

      Thank you for such an inspiring compliment. Not only does it fire me up in the moment, it also keeps me motivated in the long term. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by and read.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

