Gone Disc Golfing

26 Jan

 

Hi friends,

If you’re looking for a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers, go back to the icon mosaic and click on another author. The numbers are growing. This is just an update for those friends who have asked where I be. Thanks for checking in and I apologize for this side trip you have taken. Nothing to read here. Move along.

 

Still here? Cool. Right after posting last week I flew over to Maui and competed in the 2013 Maui Open Disc Golf tournament. Placed fourth in the +50 division at Poli Poli and came in first in the ‘had the best time’ category. Β ESPN missed it all. Weather was stellar and I don’t think I’ve ever had more fun at an event.

Today instead of writing a story* for Friday Fictioneers I practiced at the Hawaii Coffee Mill Disc Golf Course in Mountain View on the east side of this volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

(*It’s not like I didn’t try. Three stories written earlier didn’t make the grade. I think that that was Nature’s way of saying, “Get your priorities straight.”)

Thanks for your patience re comment replies and touching bases with all of you. Tomorrow starts the 2013 Big Island Open so I won’t be reading any of the past two weeks stories until much later in the week. I miss you guys and gals.

Aloha, D.

Gone disc golfing

El Guapo at el Diablo

Maui Open

At the Nest

42 Responses to “Gone Disc Golfing”

  1. Parul January 26, 2013 at 6:22 am #

    You are missed Doug. Have fun but do come back once you are done with other priorities.

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:17 am #

      Dear Parul,

      Thank you for saying so. Will see you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. sustainabilitea January 26, 2013 at 6:41 am #

    I did miss you but glad you’re having a blast. The pictures are beautiful. As addictive and enjoyable as FF is, real life is still more so and I’m glad you’re enjoying a big slice of it right now. It will making come back all the better.

    janet

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:15 am #

      Dear Janet,

      You are so kind to tell me that you missed me. i appreciate it. I really wanted to post something, but my three attempts were not quite ready for prime time.

      See you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. Charles Oyeleke Williams January 26, 2013 at 7:11 am #

    Hey there, glad to here from you. Missed you on my story last week and wondering why I didn’t see yours this week. Glad to know you are doing well and thought of us as much as we are thoughtful of you. Keep safe!

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:10 am #

      Dear Charles,

      Thanks for stopping in and saying hello. I’ll catch up with my reading and commenting very soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy) January 26, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Definitely missed you! Go have some more fun and we’ll see you soon(ish). Thanks for the update and the pics. πŸ™‚

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:09 am #

      Dear Joanna,

      Thanks. I will, and you’re welcome.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. Sandra January 26, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    See you soon. Have fun!

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:08 am #

      Thank you , Sandra,

      See you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. rochellewisoff January 26, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    Dear Doug,
    I’m not commenting on your unstory. πŸ˜‰ I miss your story this week, but thanks for sharing the pictures.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:08 am #

      Thanks, Rochelle,

      See you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. Caely January 26, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    My dear friend,

    Great that you spend some time at the courses! Haven’t heard you mentioning it for a whole so I guess it really was nature’s way of telling you to get back to practice for a while and kick some disc golf ass πŸ˜‰
    Make sure you’re happy while on the courses!

    (And I don’t mind your short comments, a comment from you is never about quantity).

    Lots of love,
    Cae

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:07 am #

      Dear Caely,

      Thank you so much. Tournament’s half over and I’m still in contention. Cross your fingers.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. David Stewart January 26, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Doug,
    Have fun there. Looks like a great place. See you when you make it back to the Fictioneers.
    -David

    • David Stewart January 26, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      Crap, I just realized I spelled your name wrong. D’oh indeed~

      • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:04 am #

        No sweat, David.

        I will use the power of the Ombudsman to make you look like a perfect speller.

        Upcountry Maui is pretty close to God’s country. See you soon.

        Aloha,

        Doug

  9. erinleary January 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    Just one comment – OK, two: 1) You’re over 50?!?!? 2) You’re life sounds pretty tough. See you when you are done having fun. πŸ™‚

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 7:00 am #

      Dear Erin,

      I’m a million years old…and turn 60 in June. Ancient Mariner, I guess. But I can still disc golf.

      See you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. 40again January 26, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    Hi Doug, it is good to hear from you and so glad you are enjoying yourself in the sun and not lying ill somewhere – why do we always think the worst?
    Have a great time and look forward to catching up again soon
    Dee

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:58 am #

      Dear Dee,

      Thanks for caring. Yes, just out having fun. I’ll be back up to speed next week, provided my imagination returns.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. Ken Arnopole January 26, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Aloha Doug I hope you do good at the big island open . You will be only 10 miles from me so if you like you can come over and stay the night so you don’t have to go back.we could bbq sat.or sunday Aloha Ken

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:56 am #

      Dear Ken,

      i appreciate the offer. Have my ducks in a row in Hilo. Mahalo plenty.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  12. unspywriter January 26, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

    Have fun!

  13. waitingforaname January 26, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    Humph! I don’t know why you’d rather spend your time outside, enjoying that beautiful scenery, than staring at a computer screen, trying to come up with a good story… Says the woman dreading going out into the dreary cold this afternoon. πŸ™‚

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:54 am #

      Dear Lisa,

      Spring is coming! Only 53 days away. Thanks for stopping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  14. train-whistle January 26, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    Came to get my FF Doug fix, oh well, not to be. Enjoy your time in the sun. My son has recently discovered disc golf and plays with friends of his in the summer. He loves it. Hope to see you next week.

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:53 am #

      Dear TW,

      I think you would have been disappointed by my attempts this week, hence the blank spot where there should have been a story.

      Will do my best to get back up to speed next week. Thanks for telling me my writing fills your sweet tooth. Music to my ears.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • train-whistle January 27, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

        I really do enjoy your stories. They are rich and carry me right to where they are. Your talent shines.

  15. billgncs January 26, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    that looks like great fun! Do you live on a mountain?

    • tedstrutz January 26, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

      That is an understatement…

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:50 am #

      Dear Bill,

      The mountains in the photo are the West Maui mountains as seen from the slopes of Haleakala. I do live on a mountain (the tallest one on the planet) but on the Big Island, just fifty or so miles to the south-east.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. tedstrutz January 26, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Dear Doug… I am afraid I am going to have to report you to Rochelle, for posting a link, but not a FF Story. Right up there with the political hacks and advertisers… Outrageous! You could always just put a link to my story at the top of this page for those expecting outstanding fiction. Congrats on your success on the links and good luck in the next tourney… don’t forget your sun lotion.

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:47 am #

      Dear Ted,

      I want you to know that I very carefully weighed the import of posting a link without a story. All I can say is, “Guilty as charged.” I’ll try to make amends in the weeks to come and I promise you it will only happen about twice a year.

      Sun lotion? Yes.

      First day of Big Island Open is in the history books. I’m in second place, four strokes back. Lots of golf left and a small window of opportunity to catch the leader. Cross your fingers.

      Thanks for checking in and giving me grief.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • tedstrutz January 28, 2013 at 3:22 am #

        They are crossed!

  17. Joyce January 27, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Have fun, Doug. See you around on your return. Thanks for sharing the pics. They’re beautiful.

    • dmmacilroy January 27, 2013 at 6:48 am #

      Thanks Joyce,

      More on the way following this tournament.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. rich January 27, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    i haven’t played that since college. my campus was on some rolling hills, and the course was great fun. enjoy.

  19. Sarah Ann January 27, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    Glad you’re enjoying yourself. Thanks for the pictures of a perfect sky – definitely needed.

  20. rgayer55 January 29, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Your photos remind me of that old bumper sticker – “The weather is here, wish you were beautiful.” I’m glad you’re having a good time.

  21. newpillowbook January 30, 2013 at 4:02 am #

    Hey, your photos go well with the prompt! Have a good time, and I’ll look forward to seeing you return.

Leave a Reply

