Mariner’s Mosaic

14 Dec

A self fulfilling prophecy of 100 words for Friday Fictioneers. Find links here to other 100 word stories by authors whose works take as their inspiration the photograph (copyright Douglas M. MacIlroy) below.

This weeks photo prompt is an inflated exercise ball that has been covered with several layers of thinset mortar, chicken wire and drywall tape in an attempt to build up a solid, strong, stone sphere which I will then smooth and surface with mosaic tiles. It will be beautiful.

Mariner's Mosaic.

Cobalt expanse encircled by iridescent clouds true to the driving forces of Hadley cell and Coriolis effect. Swaths of brown and green to hint at land amidst a dominant sea. He could see the shapes more clearly than at any time during his long years of making way toward distant, ever receding horizons.

They would come together.

Though the task challenged his ability he knew his resolve would carry the day. Patiently, and with care, the Captain added another layer to the foundation of his new world, imagining the time when he would finish his work and wake to beauty.

.

.

.

.

.

.

mosaic sphere 2012-12-14 at 2.06.39 AM

29 Responses to “Mariner’s Mosaic”

  1. Perry Block (@PerryBlock) December 14, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Doug, this is a beautiful little story that works on many levels (speaking of which). Creating beauty out of the commonplace is one. Making a new beginning is another. Very nice; build me one!

  2. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy) December 14, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow! Now I wish my piece this week was more lyrical and not so darned ordinary. Pfft. 😉

    As for the mosaic, well the novel I’m working on is entitled Mosaic of Light, so I think you can safely assume I’ll be liking your creation. 🙂

    Hope your Santa duties are going well – Ron has done two stints this week and is back on the sleigh on Monday. 😉

  3. unspywriter December 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Great story and beautiful result–talk about world-building. Sorry mine is so dark, when what you created was so beautiful: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/status-update/

  4. boomiebol December 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    This is beautiful…

  5. TheOthers1 December 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    That’s the end product?? Wow! That’s beautiful. Good luck in your construction of beauty.

  6. Kathy McClure December 14, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    One, I love this picture. Two, I love the project. Three (because it’s a magic number), your prosetry is a constant source of inspiration. Keep on keepin’ on!

  7. sustainabilitea December 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Both story and end product are beautiful. But just so you know I was paying attention, “This week’s photo” not “weeks.” 🙂

  8. readinpleasure December 14, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    Very beautiful ending, Doug. ( you gave me a tough a prompt this week) 🙂

  9. Sandra December 14, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Beautiful, Doug. Absolutely beautiful. And good luck with the project. Seems almost a shame to finish it…

  10. tedstrutz December 14, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Looks like the Captain finished the job. Nice work, Doug… nice story too.

    Thanks for explaining what the project was, you had me wondering what the sphere was (and what for), as I know the size of a 5gal bucket… now, if I could just read that fb page…

    • tedstrutz December 14, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      p.s. I’m picturing the Captain in a ship like the one in Time Bandits…

  11. Anne Orchard December 14, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Great to have the finished projject in his mind’s eye when all that is there right now is chicken wire. That’s vision.

  12. The Bumble Files December 14, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Doug, your globe will be wonderful! Oh, wow. I’m sorry I crushed it in my story now. Oh no!! Also, a beautifully written story, too. Thank you for sharing your work of art with us. You must post pictures when it’s done!

  13. JackieP December 14, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    I actually wrote my piece before reading this! Now my story makes more sense. Beautiful words and beautiful sphere.

  14. Russell December 14, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Aye, Captain, and a beautiful ball she is. Perhaps even more practical that the disco ball I created for your Luau.

    And . . . I thought this was one of your better Flash Fictions. Well done.

  15. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields December 15, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    Dear Doug,
    Adjectives escape me. You’ve captured the artist’s heart. Even though the captain sees chicken wire and plaster with his eyes, his soul sees the future creation with hope and optimism.
    “I am the master of my fate
    I am the captain of my soul.”
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  16. Lora Mitchell December 15, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    No way I can top Rochelle’s comment, so I will only say…Well done. Looking forward to seeing the finished product. You can wrap up that blue sphere and put it on Santa’s sleigh for me. Blue is my favorite color.

  17. David Stewart December 15, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    I love your gorgeous imagery. I can imagine that creating a world would take a long time and a lot of patience.

  18. H.L. Pauff December 15, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    This is a beautiful piece.

  19. brudberg December 15, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Poetry in your words here. And anyone including coriolis into a piece like this is worth acclaim.

  20. bridgesareforburning December 15, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Hi Doug,
    I had to research Hadley cell and coriolos effect and it’s not the first time you’ve sent me hunting. I really like that you force me to learn new stuff. Of course, the words are beautiful as always and your creator character seems wise and benign. Ron

  21. Atiya W Townes (@AtiyaWTownes) December 15, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I honestly do not know how to tell you what I felt reading that. Just know that I was moved and just.. I mean wow.

  22. rich December 17, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    if only the beginning of the world were this poetic instead of how violent it was. well done.

  23. elmowrites December 18, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    Great story, Doug, and I’m so glad it’s rooted in reality. I love the description of another world you create in the first paragraph – I thought at first the story was going to be set ON that planet you’re creating, but as you pulled back the camera I enjoyed the God’s eye view. Good luck on your endeavour!
    I hadn’t read your story when I wrote mine, but it’s even more fitting now I have – do take a look if you get chance. I hope you’ll approve.

  24. backfromtheedge December 19, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    That’s gorgeous! The words aren’t half bad either :-).

    • dmmacilroy December 19, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Thank you kindly on both counts.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  25. Author of Christian Comfort & Conversation December 20, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Doug they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I must have borrowed your eyes for just a moment. Because I also envisioned a masterpiece of art from the Creator.

    Shenine

    • dmmacilroy December 20, 2012 at 4:49 am #

      Dear Shenine,

      What a sweet comment. Than you for stopping by to read. Looking forward to seeing you again.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fictioneers – Watching the World | elmowrites - December 14, 2012

    […] snippet for you this week, with two characters I feel I would like to work with. The photo is from Doug MacIlroy, the other responses can be found on Rochelle’s website. Do pay both of them a visit – […]

Leave a Reply

