The End of Something*

20 Sep

Fifty-two year removed and *Papa H. still holds court in his old haunts. My hat’s off to him.

This 100 word story for Madison Woods’ Friday Fictioneers is inspired by Lora Mitchell’s photograph. All of this week’s stories are here. Check them out, especially Rich, JK Bradley, Boomiebol, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and Russell Gayer.

I made it to all 65+ stories linked last week and will do it again this week, but not until Monday night as I am going to the far off island of Maui to contest the Hawaii State Disc Golf Championship at teh fabled Poli Poli disc golf course and will be semi out of touch for the weekend. Posting early to clear the decks for action. Aloha. D.

“What do you think?” my date asked about the incongruous statue we’d found quayside on our after dinner walk.

“Waste of good marble.”

“I’m serious. What does it say to you?”

“It says to me that we can all have an off day.”

“It’s art,” she retorted, a querulous pardon for the sculptor’s sin of commission. “It’s beautiful.”

Eye of the beholder? I considered and decided that, like the statue, she and I were never going to get off the ground. I took her home, then went alone to Bodeguita del Medio to console my inner critic with a cold Mojito.

38 Responses to “The End of Something*”

  1. lenwilliamscarver September 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Love it! Eye of the beholder? I considered and decided that, like the statue, she and I were never going to get off the ground. I took her home, then went alone to Bodeguita del Medio to console my inner critic with a cold Mojito.

    Favorite part!

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Thank you Sir,

      For visiting, appreciating and lettingme know.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. sustainabilitea September 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    I can definitely identify with the conflict of what’s art and what isn’t (and who gets to decide). I liked the same section mentioned above. Happy golfing!

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Thank you Janet,

      It’s a thorny question, isn’t it. I think art endures.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • sustainabilitea September 20, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

        I have to admit I have a difficult time considering modern art as art, or at least much of it. Cubism doesn’t do much for me, either. But there’s certainly room for all sorts of beliefs. I just don’t like when someone acts as though I’m less cultured or intelligent or discerning if I don’t like some of what’s considered “art.”

  3. rgayer55 September 20, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    I agree. Who ever heard of a three-winged fairy. I bet he/she can’t even fly. I haven’t figured out what to do with one yet, but I’ll have something out there before sundown in Springdale.

    Best of luck at the Disc Golf Championship. We’re all rootin’ for ya!

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks Russell,

      Soon as you do I’ll insert a hyperlink. I’m counting on you to skewer that sculpture, but good. Thaks for visiting and for the good wishes re my flying plastic.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. Sandra September 20, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    You see, I don’t think it could even fly, not with three wings in a row like that. And that’s the practical side of me coming out. So I’ll see you down the Bodeguita del Medio and split a six-pack. Nice one Doug, I’ve still no inspiration for this one. Well done.

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Dear Sandra,

      I am sooooo glad to read that you think the same as I do re those doofus wings. I’ll keep looking for your story because I know you and I know that there are stories and then there are Sandra’s stories. The beer is on ice. I’ll keep the lights on.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. bridgesareforburning September 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Hi Doug,
    Everybody to her own taste, said the old lady as she kissed the cow. Your story is the first I’ve read. Curious to see what the rest of the crew will come up with. Thought you dialog was Hemingwwayesque. May your frisbee fly true! Ron

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      Dear Ron,

      I love that old lady saying. Thank you for your kind comment and good wishes. Can’t wait to see yours, so get hot.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. boomiebol September 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder. Nicely written. All the best this weekend

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      Thank you, Boomie.

      Going to give it my best shot(s).

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. vbholmes September 20, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Really like “the sculptor’s sin of commission” which can be read a couple of ways.

  8. John Hardy Bell September 20, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Doug,

    Funny how we all have certain things that are clear deal-breakers when it comes to potential relationships – romantic or otherwise. Some are silly, some aren’t. Your story demonstrates one that is clearly in the latter category! Fortunately I learned to let go of the silly ones long ago. It would be most unfortunate to not have my lovely wife in my life because she preferred ‘Return of the Jedi’ to ‘The Empire Strikes Back’! 🙂

    Great little slice of life with a a picture perfect ending! Haven’t found the pulse of the prompt yet but I think I’m on my way!

    Go get ’em this weekend!

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

      Dear John,

      Thank you for stopping in and commenting. I hope you do find the pulse because I’ve been jonesing for your stories. Remember that.

      And thank you for your good wishes re my passion. i hope to do well.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. newpillowbook September 20, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    “like the statue, she and I were never going to get off the ground” – This made me grin! The dialog is very well done – the word choices and phrasing give you a feel for the different, clashing personalities. Good job!

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

      Thank you for such a nice set of comments. i appreciate you checking in and weighing in. I’ll be looking for your story after I wake up.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. rochellewisoff September 20, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Dear Doug,
    Beautiful Imagery. 😉 Well, maybe not that statue. At any rate, that’s a relationship that was destined not to make it. As always love your writing…no exception here. Still trying to wrestle my story into submission. Don’t know if it will be ready to read when you wake up either.
    Shalom-Aloha,
    Rochelle

    • rochellewisoff September 22, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      I forgot to thank you for the plug. I hope this week’s entry is worthy of your endorsement, Doug.

  11. Swirling Turnip September 21, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Been there, done that, time wasted on a date that was going nowhere. Well written.

  12. billgncs September 21, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    yep, good story. Sometimes it just isn’t meant to be.

    Good luck with the disc. Sounds like fun.

  13. The Writers Village September 21, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    what’s her number. I think I like her taste in art….

    good story Doug.
    Randy

  14. Lora Mitchell September 21, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    Lordy…you are so silly. The above comments made me laugh. What makes everybody think those are wings!! Read my story for the truth. lol

  15. unspywriter September 21, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    And sometimes you have to explain baseball to guys.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/homo-avis/

  16. Joanna (Lazuli Portals) September 21, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    “Querulous pardon” is fabulous. I can feel it vibrating in the air long after the mismatched couple departed! Nice one 😉

  17. rich September 21, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    just like art, people are also subject to the eye of the beholder. try and try again he must, and maybe next time he’ll find the right girl!

  18. elmowrites September 21, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Great take, Doug, I could feel the ending coming in this one – no spark between these two lovers, whichever is right. I think the statute is supposed to have 4 wings, but even then I’m not certain it could fly. Mind you, neither can aeroplanes or bumble bees, so maybe flight is all in “faith, trust and a little bit of pixie dust”.
    Talking of faith, I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/friday-fiction-breaking-the-backs-of-angels/

  19. JKBradley September 21, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Some things in life should be easy and comfortable and fresh and sweet and satisfying, like a well made Mojito. The rest just bogs you down.

    May your disc fly true. Best of luck this weekend, Doug!

  20. Brian Benoit September 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Great characterization (not that I expected anything else), and just the right level of detail at the end there to make the whole thing feel solid and real. I wish I was good at disc golf, but alas I still haven’t conquered the drive…

  21. Joyce September 23, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    She definitely was not his soul mate. Whether a piece of art or another issue that divides, a person will speak their mind, to be true to themselves, whatever the cost. So very real.

  22. Madison Woods September 23, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Perception does matter when it comes to interpretation, doesn’t it? I love that humans are all so marvelously varied in how they perceive things to be. Makes life troublesome sometimes though.

  23. Running from Hell with El September 24, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Brilliant, Doug! We’ve all met those people who don’t get us, you know? Great dialogue, my friend.

  24. Spider42 September 26, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Very nicely done! I really enjoyed this, breezy but full of a lot more meaning in such a short span than one would expect.
    You do a good job conveying the idea of perception and personal tastes here.
    Cheers!

    • dmmacilroy September 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      Thanks Spider,

      Haven’t seen you in ages. How’ve you been? I appreciate you surfacing to comment.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Spider42 September 27, 2012 at 4:57 am #

        Hey dmmacilroy,
        Yeah, I’ve been around and posting (as you can see) but been somewhat overloaded so drop in, post and rarely get to browse other posts and lazy to comment.
        I know, no excuse, but what can you do?
        Cheers.

  25. Tessa September 27, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Loved the story, but I don’t like that statue either LOL!

Leave a Reply

