Satisfaction Brought them Back

31 Aug

Why is 100 words for Madison Woods’ Friday Fictioneers such a cruel taskmaster? (The extra word in mine is for Jen to find)

If we were less curious as a species, what shape would our civilizations have taken? Here is a coda of one of an infinite number of variations on a theme. All happening now. All happening as you read this. Photograph submitted by Stacey Plowright. Every day is a miracle….open your eyes…..

…and take my hand. To paraphrase Sandra, “…We’ll just be a minute.

“It’s beautiful.” Kate said.

We’d met at a physics conference at CERN. She’d smiled. Said she liked to look for the hand of God in all things. I soon asked for hers.

“LHC’s gone and in its place is that cloud. Beautiful it is not,” I replied.

The Higgs Boson was just the beginning. We’d been picking at the fabric of the universe at a level that had never been done before, poking, prodding. The void opened on the graveyard shift two nights ago and had grown ever since.

“Event horizon,” Kate said softly. “Come look, love, and take my hand.”

(you still here?)

45 Responses to “Satisfaction Brought them Back”

  1. rochellewisoff August 31, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    Dear Doug,
    “…she looked for the hand of God…I soon asked for hers.” Nice. Probably my favorite lines in your story. You write with such depth. The pictures are amazing and I did enjoy the ride. Thanks for your comments on mine.
    shalom aloha,
    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 1:41 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      We are existing in parallel universes. All through my posting and commenting on yours I looked for you on FB. No go. I’ll find you soon.

      Thanks for the kind comments.

      Aloha Shalom,

      Doug

      • rochellewisoff August 31, 2012 at 1:42 am #

        Strange. I think FB is acting weird. I’ve been on the whole time and have looked for you.

  2. Adam Ickes August 31, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    This reminds me a bit of those doctored photos of a hole in the ocean and a phrase along the lines of, “okay, who divided by zero?” That’s not to say your story isn’t good, I enjoyed it. Just saying it sparked that image in my mind.

  3. teeceecounsel August 31, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Lovely concept; nice story. Sweet shots too! Keep up the good work.

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 2:57 am #

      Thanks, my dear,

      I appreciate the feedback.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. Carrie August 31, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    It’s the end of the world as we know it…and I feel fine 🙂

    Nice job Doug. Enjoyable as always

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 3:08 am #

      Exactly Carrie,

      Love that song to death. (and thanks for the as always part. making me smile.)

      I’ll find yours tonight during the great Thursday night beat the rush reading riot.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. billgncs August 31, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    I hope that is not a small black hole in the accelerator…. bad thing

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      Dear Billgncs,

      Looks like it is. Thank goodness it’s just Photoshop at its best. Thanks for stopping by.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. Sandra August 31, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    That’s what you get for messing about with the universe. Will it ever be enough just to simply enjoy! Great piece Doug, great photos. Much here to reflect on, as always.

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      Dear Sandra,

      Talk about your bad day off…

      Thanks for dropping by for the end of the world.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. tollykit August 31, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Lovely story. The pictures complimented the words beautifully.

    http://adrarasdreams.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/fridayfictioneers-storm.html

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Dear Tollykit,

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. Glad I could help with yours. i know whereof you speak.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. JKBradley August 31, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    The concept you used was the first idea that came to my mind as well, a tear in the universe, but I didn’t like the way the clay felt in my hands as I shaped, so I moved on to my next idea. Well delivered.

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Dear JK,

      It was an intriguing picture, that’s for sure. What you did with the second ball of clay was pitch perfect, so perhaps it’s just as well you moved on. Unlearning to Fall has me riding Ouroboros as it eats its tail. Still reading it and still seeing it from different angles each time.

      As I said in my comment, I’ll be back.

      Thanks for reading mine and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. rgayer55 August 31, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Great story, Doug. I especially enjoyed the last slide. A lot of people get all worked up about the end of the world, but I don’t figure I can do anything about it, so why lose sleep over it?

    Thanks for being a faithful visitor to my blog. I try to give a different view of the world and bring a smile.

    http://russellgayer.wordpress.com/

  10. elmowrites August 31, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Now Doug, you know I like a challenge, but there are so many places you could ADD words, this is a tough one! How about one of these:
    1) Just a “conference at CERN” – what other kind would there be but physics, given the location?
    2) “Beautiful it’s not” – I don’t like this option, but it’s a possibility.
    3) First line, ditch the “it’s” and just have her say “Beautiful”.
    4) “to find God in everything” instead of “all things”.

    As for the piece itself – It’s beautiful.

    Your doctored picture of the LHC makes a nice link to mine: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fiction-white-pegasi/

  11. unspywriter August 31, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Great piece! Every word is just perfect, but, then, I’ve come to expect that from you.

    Mine pales in comparison: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/for-the-world-is-hollow/

  12. Paul August 31, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I’d like to think that I would be able to see beauty in destruction like Kate does. A true scientific mind. I would probably be running around like Chicken Little. “Take my hand”. How pragmatic our women. Yours, mine.

  13. sustainabilitea August 31, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Satisfaction and wanting to know more about some of the concepts will bring me back as well as lead me to do some other readying….when I take a break from trying to pack up a house! 🙂 I know what you mean about the reading rush. I’m allowing myself a couple reads every break I take and working my way through.

  14. readinpleasure August 31, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    “…she looked for the hand of God…I soon asked for hers.” How original! A great take on the prompt, Doug. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/friday-fictioneers-harmattan-rain/

  15. Kirsten August 31, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Just wanted to stop by and say, “Amazing writing!” Thanks for dropping this little gem into my Inbox today. 🙂

  16. Melody Pearson August 31, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Oooh, very nice. I’m not smart enough to understand all the science, but Physics is always fascinating for me. Just one small bothersome thing. In the final sentence of the 4th paragraph, I’d say, “had been growing ever since.” It indicates a continuing event whereas “had grown” sounds as if it is done. I like that she’s so fascinated with the chance to personally experience the Event Horizon that she’s not even thinking of it as a death sentence for all humanity. I loved the gorgeous illustrations too.

    I’ve been away for a while and was late today, so here’s my direct link: http://melodypearson.com/august-30-2012-before-the-storm/

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

      Dear Melody,

      I had it as you wrote it in an early draft but sliced and diced it for economy of words. I agree with you wholeheartedly. I’m glad you noticed the character of Kate, who is present enough to realize that the Event Horizon was something worth really seeing. Russell Gayer commented on it cogently. Why fret if it is beyond our capacity to effect? If an asteroid is headed my way I’m climbing up on the roof with a chair, a six pack and a good pair of binoculars. What a sight that would be.

      Thanks for dropping by and reading.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. John Hardy Bell August 31, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Buckle up is all I have to say! Where we eventually land is still unknown. But I do know that when we get there, you’re one of the first comrades I’m looking for. Transcendence personified!

    Great stuff Doug!

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

      Hi John,

      Thanks. I’ll keep my eyes out for you when I land.

      Welcome back and Aloha,

      Doug

  18. Cindy Marsch August 31, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I had lunch today with a friend whose son is living the dream at CERN, so this had a nice resonance for me. The multi-media effect is fascinating, reminding me of the early breathless promises of “hypertext.” I keep going back to that image of the coins in the reverse fountain. Fun frolic through the spheres. Thanks!

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

      Dear Cindy,

      I like the fountain photo too. Of all of them it seems most ethereal, as if to say there exists beneath the surface of everyday life another world which we rarely get a glimpse of but which can swallow us in a heartbeat and without a cosmic hiccup to mark our passing.

      Thank you for the feedback and comments. Working at CERN would be a blast. I have to make do with my job https://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/05/29/just-another-night-at-the-office/
      Hyperlinks are a dimension I’m eager to explore and exploit. Touch and go at times. i’m glad you enjoyed my foray there.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. Rachel Paterson August 31, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    I enjoyed the post. Even more, I enjoyed the confidence with which you replied to Rochelles post – “We are existing in parallel universes.” I’ve recently had that feeling myself. Elaborate?

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Dear Rachel,

      Thanks for dropping in and reading. I appreciate the input. The parallel universe comment was engendered by my inability to chat with Rochelle via FB even though I could see her adding things to her stream. She was there but the green dot would not go on. Then, suddenly, it did toward the end. Strange digital dimensions. Who knows?

      Tell me about your ‘parallel universe feeling, if you can.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Rachel Paterson August 31, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

        Ah I see! Mine wasn’t a good feeling. My three year old son had an accident in a swimming pool – he was completely fine within about 10 seconds. But it haunted me. For about a month afterwards I had the sense that somewhere there was another version of myself whose world had fallen apart. It was right there, all the time, over my shoulder. Gone now, thank goodness!

        Anyway, I really enjoyed the post, as I have done every week I’ve played. 🙂 Thanks again!

  20. stuff I said August 31, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    What a lovely tale. I really enjoyed it and the photos. I often wonder if one day the universe will open up to us and share some of its secrets…time I guess will tell.

    • dmmacilroy August 31, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks Stuff,

      The Universe lays bare all of her secrets all of the time. We just need to learn to see…. That’s what I feel, anyway.

      Thank you for dropping by. i’ve requested access to your site to try to find your story. I hope you’ll open the door.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • stuff I said August 31, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

        oh goodness my site should not be locked…very strange…let me see if I can discern what is going on..thank you

  21. glossarch September 1, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    Despite myself those particle collisions make me uneasy. I like how the void opened “on the graveyard shift”.

    • dmmacilroy September 1, 2012 at 1:20 am #

      You’re the first to notice that and remark about it. Good eye, sir. (That’s how they say hello in Australia, too.) Thanks for dropping by and reading.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  22. flyoverhere September 1, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Another wonderful story Doug! It brought to mind a song…”If the world should stop revolving spinning slowly down to die, I would spend the end with you….”

  23. Lora Mitchell September 1, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Hey Doug…give me a “heads up” when there’s news of that asteroid. I’m joining you up on that roof … save a beer for me. Tks for visiting me.

  24. claireful September 3, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Some beautiful writing here, and that’s without the intriguing subject. I loved ‘picking at the fabric of the universe’ and then later in the same sentence, ‘poking, proding’. Just lovely.

  25. Running from Hell with El September 7, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    You write about romance so very well (asked for her hand). And the topic, with gorgeous photos — wow. Back to your MS.

  26. Bumba September 20, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    Great concept, the event horizon. And the event horizon is all we can know about the black hole, an even greater mystery. You got a good story out of it.

    • dmmacilroy September 20, 2012 at 1:18 am #

      Dear Bumba,

      Thank you for you kind comment, and for visiting my blog. It is nice to know you enjoyed my small story.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

