Croatan Summer

10 Aug

100 words for Madison Woods and the gang at FridayFictioneers. Thank you to Susan Wenzel for the fine picture. (Looking forward to reading what it conjures up.)

My apologies to all who kindly commented last week and then waited in vain for a reply. Grandkids are in town, (true), my dog ate it (Not), I was watching the Olympics (Badminton!), and I was just plain overwhelmed (true). I will do better this week. Aloha, D.

At seventeen Lori was long, lean and ready and I was rock hard and had a motorcycle. What more was there at that age? One evening her whispered request sent us racing heat lightning to the beach near Kill Devil Hills where we made love for the first time, insistent as the pounding surf.

Lori and I lit up that summer with lightning of our own, then drifted apart. Many years have passed but whenever I taste the salt tang of the sea, time fades and I am young again, on the verge of flight, the whole world my oyster.

.

.

 

48 Responses to “Croatan Summer”

  1. Jess Schira August 10, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Young love! Very pretty story. Nicely done.

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 9:31 am #

      HI Jess,

      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. Linda August 10, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Perfect, it captures that moment that we have all tasted at one time or another Doug – well done. Mines on the links and also here: http://womanontheedgeofreality.com/2012/08/10/friday-fictioneers-shell-seeker/

    BTW, sometimes life just get’s in the way of things and it’s OK πŸ™‚

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks Linda,

      For the comments and the pardon. I appreciate both. Headed your way.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Linda August 10, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        You’re welcome Doug and it’s great to see you πŸ™‚

  3. rochellewisoff August 10, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Dear Doug,
    From here to Eternity meets the Summer of ’42. As usual, your writing is stunning. So much emotion and imagery packed into a few well-chosen words.
    shalom-aloha,
    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      You are sweet to comment so kindly. I kept working it all day and then some. Finally got it tweaked as best as I could. I appreciate your support.

      See you on FB:)

      Aloha-Shalom,

      Doug

  4. unspywriter August 10, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Oh, yes, very nice. Great imagery–I may have to take a cold shower πŸ˜‰ –and poignant as well.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/down-by-the-sea-shore/

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      Dear Maggie,

      Thanks for the comments. Enjoy the shower:)

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. newpillowbook August 10, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    “I was rock hard and had a motorcycle” – the height of teenage boy ambition! Great sentence. And a well told vignette of growing up. Nice.

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      Thanks for noting that distinction. My alter-ego would be proud. Thanks also for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. Joanna (Lazuli Portals) August 10, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    “Insistent as the pounding surf.” Oh my!

    As always, Doug, a fine piece, capturing those long days and nights when life seems to stretch ahead to an infinitely-distant horizon.

    The Olympics have been eating up my evenings, too, so I completely understand the time pressures. πŸ˜‰

    We’re here: http://www.lazuli-portals.com/flash-fiction/pursuit-of-the-pearl

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      Thanks Joanna,

      I’m still watching Olympics late at night via DVR as i type this. I thank you for reading and for commenting. i’m glad you enjoyed the riff on time and tide. Headed your way now.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. billgncs August 10, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    great — takes me back to memories of my own!

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      Thank you, sir. Don’t get lost back there.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. Jan Morrill August 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Ah, memories, Doug. I wrote of memories, too. Interesting, the difference in male and female recollections. πŸ™‚ Though, now that you mention it . . .

    –Jan
    http://janmorrill.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/fridayfictioneers-flashfiction-shell-phone/

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      You’re a tease, Jan. I loved Shell Phone. Great title and a better poem.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. boomiebol August 10, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Asses sweet memories. Mine is on if you get a chance

    • dmmacilroy August 10, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Boomie. Strange comment. Still trying to sort it out. Headed your way now.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • boomiebol August 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

        Oh my days lol…silly spell check, That was “Awww…sweet memories”. Glad you pointed it out, I would never have known…my mistake

    • keliwright August 10, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Oh, thank you! I love spell check. I laughed so hard over this comment. I’ve had a bad week and really needed the jollity. With sincerest appreciation (and hoping that I have not offended). πŸ™‚ I’m off to read yours just to return the favor!

      • boomiebol August 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

        Lol…i was so embarassed when he pointed it out. I really hope he wasn’t offended. Darn spell check and me for not reading over my comments.

        Glad you enjoyed it, now i don’t feel completely bad :). Hope your weekend is way better…sending bug hugs if it helps in anyway

  10. Sandra August 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    ‘Steamy’ doesn’t do it justice, this was positively simmering! And yes, it reminded me of Summer of 42 as well. Great piece with some lingering imagery.

  11. rgayer55 August 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Dear Douglas,
    I loved your prologue about badminton. Give those folks some credit – intentionally swinging to miss is a lot harder than it looks. I’ve got a short story started entitled “The Obese Olympics” I hope to have it finished in time for the winter games, but right now I’m in training with a dozen chocolate donuts and a plate of biscuits & gravy.
    Your little flashback story brought back memories of skinny-dipping at Tisdale Ford. Isn’t it wonderful how a certain sight, sound, or scent and trigger a memory? Once again, you delivered a tightly woven story that carried your readers to a new height. My hat’s off to you!

    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

    • keliwright August 10, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Russell, I have to read that one when it’s done!

  12. TheOthers1 August 10, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    This. I loved the way this felt. Almost like a true memory. Wonderful.

    I always assume that people are living life. It’s okay if you can’t respond; I just enjoy the story.

  13. susielindau August 10, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    Nice! You came up with life and love and I saw death in the “shell.” I liked the taste of salt and the allusion to the salt on the skin. I could taste it too.
    Nice!
    Here is my interpretation-
    http://susielindau.com/2012/08/10/the-morning-after/

  14. Nifti August 10, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    lovely. has me grinning at work.

  15. Anne Orchard August 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    As a mother of one already teenage boy and one soon to be I read this with some degree of nervousness. Heaven help us when their hormones get to this stage, but I hope they make memories as good as this too. Thanks for stopping by mine, and your lovely comment πŸ™‚

    • dmmacilroy August 11, 2012 at 1:29 am #

      Dear Anne,

      In No Country for Old Men, one of Cormac McCarthy’s characters tells the protagonist, “You can’t stop what’s coming.” Those words are very apt for a mother of teenage boys awash in the tsunami of hormones of adolescence. I’d sooner try to catch a lightning bolt. What you can do is understand (and it sounds like you do) and try to teach them to be responsible partners. And, of course, “If you an’t be good, be careful.” Good luck and thank you for your comments on Croatan Summer.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. Beth Carter August 10, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Ah, young love! Sweet memories. I wasn’t near a beach in high school, but found plenty of places to park and smooch! Thanks for the memories. I’m here: http://banterwithbeth.blogspot.com/

  17. keliwright August 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Oh, Doug, my visit here made my day! From your prologue to your (as always) well-wrought story to the laughter-inducing comments. In fact, it made my week. Have a great time with the Olympics and the grandkids!

  18. vbholmes August 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    You hit a home run with “I was rock hard and had a motorcycle. What more was there at that age?” A teenager’s summer dream brought to life by long, lean, ready Lori. Good story.
    (Thanks for introducing me to “susurration” on rochelle wisoff’s site–wonderful word!)

  19. Lora Mitchell August 10, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Hi Doug: Thank you for bringing back those “coming of age” beach memories. I love the idea that it was she who led them to that area to “experiment.” Your rock hard and motorcycle line reminded me of Elvis, Brando, Dean and McQueen. The youngsters here may not understand the reference, but let me assure them…it was a fabulous era. Bunny Hugs, Lora

    • dmmacilroy August 11, 2012 at 12:06 am #

      Dear Lora,

      Up and reading and responding now and upon checking yours out I wish I’d used ‘Coming of Age’ as the title. Croatan’s a more mysterious reference but no one seemed to note it anyway. Thanks for the inspiration and the fine comments.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  20. Carrie August 10, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    crazy and insane young love! Delightful bit of flash this week Doug

  21. Brian Benoit August 10, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Wow, so much good stuff at work in this one. There’s a real punch to that last line, and the image of racing heat lightning (with the echo of lightning you use later on) was also especially good.

    Brian (http://pinionpost.com/2012/08/10/the-reunion/)

  22. Kaitlin August 11, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Great job – I love the mention of the Kill Devil Hills, I have family that lives near there πŸ™‚ I also love the “Insistent as the pounding surf.” Fabulous line.

  23. Joyce August 11, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    A great story of young love in its prime. Brings back wistful memories and yearnings in my younger days.

  24. The Writers Village August 11, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Aloha Doug – a great story has triggered great comments from cold showers to pounding surf to “comings” of age and being rock hard and so on. I would also point the tangs of the sea reference. This is like 50 shades of grey… but reads more like red hot seasons of….

  25. Lady Marilyn Kay Dennis August 11, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    This was beautiful, Doug. I was right there from your first words.

  26. Susan Wenzel (@SusanWenzel) August 11, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    Dear Doug,

    I wondered what you would do with the picture, and you did not disappoint. Only a couple years ago, I lived near enough to the Virginia/North Carolina border that the Outer Banks was a frequent destination of mine, so I enjoyed zipping down the highway with your characters.

    Alas, I crave seafood when I get a taste of the ocean…not the joys of youth. πŸ™‚

    ~Susan

    “rock hard and had a motorcycle”…oh dear…very racy in a couple senses of the word

  27. janet August 12, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Excellent as always, Doug. Grandkids certainly take priority and the Olympics only come around every four years (or two, if you alternate seasons), so enjoy them both.

  28. thecontradictoryoptimist August 12, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    That was truly a beautiful story! I loved it!

  29. EmmaMc August 12, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Oh wow, a beautiful story Doug. This filled me with nostaligia and hope at the same time. Lovely stuff!

  30. elmowrites August 13, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    (I was sure I left you a comment on Friday, but clearly not. Must be going slowly mad!)

    Great love (lust?) story, Doug, full of rich nostalgia and powerful sentiment. You capture the guy’s youth for us and for him perfectly. You so you know though, I’ve been bad-mouthing you to Brian (http://pinionpost.com/2012/08/10/the-reunion/)!!

    I’m running late, over at http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/10/friday-fiction-shells/

  31. Atiya W Townes (@AtiyaWTownes) August 13, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Doug, that was beautiful. You captured youth twice in this little story. I loved, “I taste the salt tang of the sea,” that was my favorite part. I’m herehttp://remakingme-atiyatownes.blogspot.com/2012/08/friday-fictioneers-sand-and-sea-shells.html Happy Monday

  32. 8teen39 August 15, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    Dang, I hate you. So few words and yet I’m now sitting here feeling unfaithful to my wife by remembering my college sweetheart. And in those days I was always rock hard. And had a motorcycle!

Leave a Reply

