The Landscape of my Heart

6 Aug

Two Postcards; one from, one to, for Karen B. Nelson’s Reason2Rhyme poetry prompt. Second time I’ve tried this. No comments are necessary. I write these for me because I navigate alone and sometimes end a long watch talking to myself. Good company is where you find it.

 

Dearest,

The view from my room is of the Sea

To the Northwest across the Channel

Green and brown slopes rise

Above the mist

Dawn’s light on the landscape of my heart

Calls to me

 

 

My Captain,

Sundered, lonely, strong and unbowed

We stand apart at separate helms

I cannot chart your course

Nor you mine

Should you survive the crossing

Safe harbor waits

And rest and refit in my arms

 

 

6 Responses to “The Landscape of my Heart”

  1. TheOthers1 August 6, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    You said no comments, but I wanted you to know that really enjoyed this.

  2. billgncs August 6, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    very, very nice

  3. Carol Deminski August 6, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    You are in touch with your emotions in such a powerful way. It always manages to come out through your writing. These were touching and gentle, and just right.

    C

  4. Jeannie August 7, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    gentle and tender, and yes, just right. xox

  5. rgayer55 August 7, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Dear Douglas,
    My work space doesn’t have a window, so I’m envious of your mountain top view of God’s creation. I love the photo and really enjoyed the poetry. thanks for sharing it with the world.

  6. Joyce August 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Your poems are beautiful. So full of emotion it sets a scene all its own. Thanks for sharing. And I love the picture of the rainbow over the water. The wonder and awesome beauty of God’s creation is just breathtaking, and I bet all the more so in Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

