Results

2 Aug

Hi All,

Thanks to everyone who wished me well and cheered me on in the Hawaii State Flying Disc Overall Championships this weekend. CNN elected not to cover it. ESPN cameras never showed. NBC said something about prior commitments in London. Slackers all.

Despite a noticeable lack of media presence a handful (5 women and 12 men) of die hard Disc enthusiasts gathered from four of the seven Hawaiian islands to try to become the Overall Champion for 2012. I was glad to be one of them, ever mindful of the fact that many people my age are dead or headed there at high speed. Being able to compete with the kids and hold my own is a thrill in and of itself, but doing it on the thirtieth anniversary of my winning this tournament in 1982 was icing on the cake.

I won’t bore you with the details of all five events; it takes a disc nut to wade through those. Just wanted to tell you that I finished fifth overall and tied for first in the ‘Had a Good TIme’ category (as predicted) and that I appreciated all your support.

No need to comment Β on this informational bulletin. You’ll need your rest. FridayFictioneers looks to be a difficult one this week.

 

Aloha,

 

Doug

12 Responses to “Results”

  1. boomiebol August 2, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Congratulations and yea I might be sitting out on this week’s prompt.

    • dmmacilroy August 2, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      Looks slimy, doesn’t it?

      Thanks, Boomie.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. billgncs August 2, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    you rock! — friday’ post is great for me, more Zombies!!!

  3. tedstrutz August 2, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Dear Lord… See what happens when you leave for a few weeks? You miss electrifying news such as this. I can only assume, that by ‘Fling Disc’, the author means ‘frisbee’ to us ordinary folks??? Congratulations on your success and good time. As I recall, the 1982 Tournament had 1 contestant.

    • dmmacilroy August 2, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      Dear Ted,

      Frisbee (TM) is a registered trademark and thus cannot legally be used in names of tournaments and such without the express written permission of Whammo Inc. Back in the Eighties they tried to maintain some sort of lock on the whole ‘flying disc’ experience and totally lost their ‘industry leader’ status. Now discs are made by a wide variety of companies for a wider variety of purposes. Designs have changed markedly, especially in the golf discs, which are also used in the Distance competitions. In 1982 as a strapping youngster I won the Distance Event with a mammoth throw of 310 feet. This past weekend as a bandaged and ailing oldster I tied for second in the first heat with a throw of 465 feet. The difference that thirty years has made is truly remarkable.

      Now if only the medical profession would apply some of those leaps and bounds to me, I might be around and throwing for the next thirty years.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      P.S. Must have missed you in ’82’ when there was over forty people in the tournament. (Ha!) See ya, D.

      • tedstrutz August 3, 2012 at 5:17 am #

        You would have thought they would have loved to have had the publicity. Actually, Flying Disc sounds so much cooler.

  4. tedstrutz August 2, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    I will have to check in on our dear friend Madison. I like ‘slimy’, and it will be interesting to see what all those overwraught sci-fi minds come up with.

    I’ve been working on my PhotoLog, and haven’t had a chance to participate. http://tedbooksdailypics.com/ … Here it is if you haven’t seen it… I think you would like some of the pics. I’ll be taking some in Hawaii the end of Sept. it looks like… One of which will be plastered all over Madison Woods site!

    Happy Trails, my friend…

  5. TheOthers1 August 2, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Way to you. Your talks of your advanced age always tickle me. Maybe because you feel young to me. Something to be said about a distinguished older gentleman with a real young vibe. I can dig it. Glad you had a good time though. I knew you were a lock for that category.

    • tedstrutz August 3, 2012 at 5:18 am #

      Knowing you, you could probably ‘dig’ both of us old guys at the same time…

      • dmmacilroy August 3, 2012 at 5:24 am #

        Dear CC,

        Ted’s trying to get me in trouble… (But there’s a reason I used the tag I did.)

        Aloha,

        Doug

      • TheOthers1 August 3, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

        Oh Ted. Don’t let the content of my blog fool you. I’m not as scandalous as I let on (not even by a third). My writing is a poor reflection of my lived life. Though my adoration for certain older gentlemen sparks my imagination quite frequently. πŸ™‚

      • tedstrutz August 3, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

        πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

