Hawaii State Flying Disc Championships

28 Jul

Hi all,

 

This is just a note to tell ‘the world’ (you guys and gals, my blogging friends) that I will be off island for two days. In three hours I’m going to wake up (have to go to sleep first), drive to the Kona International Airport (Love that name. It’s a small airport) and fly to Oahu, have breakfast and then make my way with a friend to Keehi Lagoon where the first of five events in the Hawaii State Flying Disc Championships will be held. Distance, Disc Golf, Self Caught Flight (strange name but look it up), Discathon and Accuracy are the categories that will be contested this year.

I won this event in another life in 1982. Four years ago I came in third. This year I hope to be able to hear exclamations of surprise from the kids as I shed my cane (I don’t really have one but I may cobble one together to add to my decrepit appearance) and try to show them how it’s done. No matter what the outcome I will receive an honorable mention in the ‘Have Fun’ category and that is enough for me. Some of you know how I play disc golf every Sunday. Church of the Disc, I call it. I’ve told a few of you of the magic of watching the sleek, colorful, aerodynamic discs streaking through the air toward distant targets. Throwing them well is a bonus. This weekend promises to be a little bit of nirvana for me and will explain why all comments and replies will cease on the current crop of FridayFictioneer stories.

Have I passed 100 words? (Seems strange going on at length like this.)

I truly do love all you folks and thank you for being there. It’s amazing to think anyone is out there at all, no less reading this. I’m kind of old school I guess.

Wish me luck and I’ll talk to you Sunday night.

 

Mahalo and Aloha,

 

Doug

18 Responses to “Hawaii State Flying Disc Championships”

  1. rochellewisoff July 28, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Hi Doug
    Sounds like a great time. Hope you show up all those young “whippersnappers.” The fact that you rambled past 100 words just shows your passion for the sport. (Of course I’m up reading this…up before dawn…down just after dusk…not the life of the party)
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. TheOthers1 July 28, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    I can’t picture you with a cane. My image of you contains a lot of things, but a cane is definitely not part of that. I hope you have a great time.

    • Douglas MacIlroy July 28, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Thanks CC!

      Is that a cane in your pocket…or are you just happy to be hucking (disc slang for heaving a disc:)

      No cane yet, but plenty of gray hair 😦 Oh, well.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • TheOthers1 July 28, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

        But gray hair is assign of wisdom. Wear it with pride, my friend.

  3. Jeannie July 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Ha! I don’t see you with a cane either! Good luck Doug and have lots of fun showing the young pups how the big boys get it done!!

  4. Douglas MacIlroy July 28, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Dear Jeannie,

    You’re right, no cane yet. Thanks for the good wishes. Talk to you soon.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. billgncs July 28, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    you rock — float like a disc, sting like a bee

  6. Carol Deminski July 28, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Best of luck Doug! I know you’ll kick some butt out there, but most of all I hope you have a lot of fun!

    Photos of the event will be most welcome afterwards too. 🙂

  7. Madison Woods July 28, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Have fun Doug! LOL, I like the tags you chose for this post.

  8. Sandra July 29, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Hope you’re having a great time! Take care. (Not that you will!)

  9. Jan Morrill July 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    How fun! Love the photo, and wish you the best of luck. You live a charmed life, Doug! 🙂

  10. ron pruitt July 30, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Hi Doug,

    May your discs fly long and true. Hope you have a great time. My son and I used to play frisbee golf, but I was never very good because I can’t throw for much distance. Thanks for making the effort to go over 100 words. Have fun!

    Ron

  11. Running from Hell with El July 30, 2012 at 4:15 am #

    My friend,

    I thought of you a lot this weekend. You see, the place where I run has a frisbee golf course, so each time I ran past it this weekend (I ran six miles Saturday and fifteen today) I said, “Aloha, Doug!! Throw it straight, throw it far” to the wind, hoping it would reach your ears somehow.

    A big smile from one aging athlete to another.

    xo,

    El

    • Douglas MacIlroy July 30, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Dear El,

      It’s Sunday night and I just got home after a long flight from Oahu to the Big Island. I feel like an old hinge that has rusted shut somewhere. Was reading through the comments and got to yours and smiled. You may be aging but you’re not aged.

      What disc golf course?

      By the way, your good wishes must have helped; I came in third in the Disc Golf portion of the event this morning. Respectable round versus the kids and lots of stellar throws.

      Thanks for the help.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • rochellewisoff July 30, 2012 at 10:37 am #

        Hi Doug,
        I’d say you have nothing to be ashamed of unless, of course, there were only four participants. I know that’s not the case. As for hair…your might be gray but its plentiful. There a lot of guys our age and younger with the chrome dome.
        Monday morning…means bakery. Wishing I could stay home and write. The people in my second novel are updating and rewriting their stories. So hard to go to fluorescent hell when the muse is whispering so loud. Sure you understand.
        Hope you’re rested.
        Shalom,
        Rochelle

  12. Russell July 30, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Glad you had fun, Doug. Missed your comments over the weekend, but there’s more to life than blogging and face time with electronics. I got good news this morning on a short story I sent to Tales From the South–more on that later.

    • Douglas MacIlroy July 30, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

      Dear Russell,

      Congrats! Looking forward to hearing more about the story—-and reading it. (Is it a funny one? Just wondering:)

      Had my fun for the weekend, now off to the dentist. Life evens things out right away.

      Talk to you soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

