Mind of Peace

26 Jun

Stumbled across this and thought I’d try my hand at it. Here is the result. Thanks Karen. Aloha, D.

Mind of Peace

 

Gandhi, Kennedy, King

 In search of a higher, better way

 Had their minds stilled

 By men who had none

 And knew little

Peace

18 Responses to “Mind of Peace”

  1. Nifti June 26, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Aloha Doug,

    This is very nice… with much meaning.
    Is this a particular type of poetry?

    Nifti.

    • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 9:29 am #

      Dear Nifti,

      I wouldn’t know a particular type of poetry from another. I kind of freewheel it. Not like any poets out there can gig me for it, right?

      Thanks for commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Nifti June 26, 2012 at 9:34 am #

        I like free write. Just wondered as I am not very well versed either. Thought maybe you could teach me something 🙂
        Was also going to point out the error in line 3 which you’ve fixed. But wanted to be sure first that I wasn’t missing something 🙂

        It reads perfectly 🙂

  2. dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Dear Nifti,

    I appreciate it when I’m pointed toward errors. Never fear helping me out that way. Thanks

    Aloha again,

    Doug

  3. The Writer's Village June 26, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Very nice. powerful. Each time I read it the message sunk in deeper and disturbed my peace of mind ( in my case that only a little piece of mind – ha!) Randy

    • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Thanks Randy. I appreciate you stopping by to let me know you read the poem and that it moved you in some small way.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. Karen Nelson June 26, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    That was beautiful, Doug, as I knew it would be. Did you intend to have the shape of the poem resemble a tear? Because it does – and I love it. Thanks for jumping into the poetry prompt this week. I hope you will return for next Monday’s inspiration, as you are certainly an inspiration to all of us!
    Many Thanks,
    Karen

    • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

      Dear Karen,

      Thank you for such a wonderful commentpliment (I have invented a new word!) I’m afraid arranging my words into the shape of a tear is beyond me. (Have to go back and look to see what you mean.) I enjoyed this and will look for you next Monday.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. boomiebol June 26, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Amazing!!!

    • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      Thank you!

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • boomiebol June 26, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

        You are welcome. I decided to try my hands at it…

        He was running on empty
        His platform seemed shaky
        But it didn’t matter
        His sort was often needed
        In a race with so many
        Whose smiles house
        Lies and much greed
        Left untold

      • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

        Dear Boomie Bol,

        Politician’s funeral pyre. i like it very much. D.

  6. susielindau June 26, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I love your prose. So much truth in your few words….

    • dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Dear Susie,

      Thank you so much for reading. At the heart of my poem is a sad truth about the human experience (I Think). Great men are brought down by small men. We speak truth to power at our peril, yet I see no other alternataive.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. danbalva July 18, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Awesome poem! Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Congratulations on this much deserved award!! http://hurdlestohappiness.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/one-lovely-blog-award/

  8. dmmacilroy June 26, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Absolutely loved Pie in the Sky. Thanks for plugging my blog and calling me wonderful. Going to change my name to The Poetry man…Not!

    Aloha,

    Doug

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sky in the Pie | theforgottenwife - June 26, 2012

    […] of the wonderful bloggers that I follow ironwoodwind had posted a little poem that was part of a larger project called Reason2Rhyme run by Karen B. […]

  2. “So Cliche” Featured Poet, Doug MacIlroy | Karen B. Nelson - June 30, 2012

    […] “Mind of Peace” […]

Leave a Reply

