Bermuda Triangle Summer

13 Apr

Summer’s coming. 100 word story for FridayFictioneers inspired by Madisn Woods’ photo prompt. Her story is here. Leave a comment and a link. Visit everyone’s efforts and say hello. They’re a good bunch of writers. Aloha, D.

I ran eagerly toward the passage under Route 69 that led to the lake deep in the woods, thinking long and hard of seventeen year old Summer McBride waiting there, ripe and luscious in blue jean shorts and tank top.

“Meet me at our spot,” was all she’d said on the phone. “I have something I want to show you.”

Dad had somehow known I’d been summoned.

“Just be careful, Stud. That part of a woman’s like the Bermuda Triangle,” he said, a faraway look in his eyes.  “A man can get lost in there forever if he’s not careful.”

47 Responses to “Bermuda Triangle Summer”

  1. Joseph E. Lerner April 13, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Hilarious! “Bermuda Triangle,” never heard the phrase used that way before. Here’s mine: http://furiousfictions.com.

    • dmmacilroy April 13, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      Dear Joe,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. I’m typing now but about to take grandkids and their parents to the airport. Will get to yours shortly.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. TheOthers1 April 13, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    LOL! This was beyond enjoyable to read. Nice work. 🙂
    Nothing much to offer from me on this prompt.

    • dmmacilroy April 13, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Thanks for reading and commenting, my friend. This was an interesting photo. Squint your eyes and think about the shape of things.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. Craig Towsley April 13, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Doug,

    Every week your stories get better and better.
    I was there with the narrator rushing towards her. Nicely done.

    • dmmacilroy April 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      Dear Craig,

      This was another prompt that sprang to life from the picture. I wonder if any one will see what I did in it. Bears a second look.

      Thanks for the kind words. I’ll be getting to yours shortly.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Craig Towsley April 13, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

        If you mean the lines of perspective forming some triangular shape, i see it. If that’s not it, then I have no idea, hahahha.

  4. JKBradley April 13, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    I’ve been fortunate enough to have been lost there myself.

    • dmmacilroy April 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      Nice place to be lost, at times, eh? Kind of like The Big Rock Candy Mountain.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. Brandon Scott April 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Haha! The father is a very wise man! Excellent work, as always.

    My story: http://authorbrandonscott.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/the-secret-lives-of-children/

  6. Beth Carter April 13, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    I really enjoyed this, Doug. Great descriptions (loved “ripe and luscious in blue jean shorts and tank top”). I also enjoyed the wistfulness about the dad.

    My story, “Shell Shocked” is here: http://www.banterwithbeth.blogspot.com/

  7. allenjambalaya April 13, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    I don’t know if it’s just me or what, but I think that part has something to do with the raging teenage hormones. The Dad might be speaking from his own experience. That’s how I see it. What a fresh way to look at The Bermuda Triangle.

    Mine here: http://allenjambalaya.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/the-tunnel-a-poem

  8. teschoenborn April 13, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    The imagery you convey in this piece is wonderful. I found myself smiling as I read. Loved dad’s advice.

    Here’s mine:http://teschoenborn.com/2012/04/13/friday-fictioneers-3/

  9. Sandra April 13, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Somehow I don’t think he’ll be listening to his father. 😦 As his father probably didn’t in his day. It was ever thus …. Nice one Doug.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/a-place-to-die-for-friday-fictioneers-13-april-2012/#comment-1199

  10. Russell April 13, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    I love the reference to Highway 69. Yes, it’s a lovely place to be lost. This piece gave me some great flashback memories.

    here’s mine http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  11. siobhanmuir April 13, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Lol, yes, we have been known to bemuse and entangle the males of the species. Well done, Doug.

    Thanks for the comments on mine. 🙂

    Siobhan

  12. Carlos Repuesto de la Tabla April 13, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Salaciously funny, Doug! You must have been thinking long and hard under Route 69… and remembering those days of long ago. I remember the punch line (but, for the life of me, not the joke) of a sordid joke from that time: “Find my keys and we’ll drive out.” But, enough, and apologies to all the faint-hearted ladies listening in to this locker room humour. Our stories once again exhibited a similar response to the prompt, though mine’s not funny. I would have been afraid of Summer McBride.

  13. Susan Wenzel (@SusanWenzel) April 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Nice…so many naughty little inferences, so little time! Good post this week, Doug, as usual! I have to go peruse this fun read again!

    ~Susan (Here’s mine: http://www.susanwenzel.com/)

  14. Parul April 13, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    LOL! This was a good read. Teasing and tantalizing!
    I am still smiling!

    Here’s my attempt for the week-
    http://faitaccompli.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/the-dark-tunnel/

  15. Lindaura April 13, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    You and Carlos have a lot to answer for! Charmingly told tale of teenage lust.
    Here is mine, could not be more different. Hmmm, but now that you mention it, maybe the tunnel prompt was more literal than I thought…
    Laura
    http://fictionvictimtoo.blogspot.com

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 1:38 am #

      Hi Laura,

      I’m glad it was not just Carlos and I that saw it. Thanks for reading and commenting. I’ll be headed your way after the sun goes down here and the world settles down to sleep.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. rich April 13, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    oh dear. that’s an interesting relationship between a dad and son when he tells his dad what that meeting is all about.

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 1:35 am #

      Dear Rich,

      Dad just guessed wisely as his kid rushed into the breach.

      Thanks for commenting. I’ll be visiting yours tonight. Thanks for your patience.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  17. unspywriter April 14, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Nice story. The Dad was a wise man. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unspywriter.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/friday-its-friday-fictioneers/

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 1:36 am #

      Hi Maggie,

      Thanks for reading. I’ll be swinging your way tonight after the world slows down a little.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. writingbothsides April 14, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    This is funny stuff. Was he was wearing his Bermuda shorts?
    Here’s mine: http://wp.me/p1Tjpv-a5

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 4:13 am #

      You got me. I know if he was, he didn’t want to be later.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  19. Madison Woods April 14, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    LOL, I like how dad had known his son had been ‘summoned’. And the first sentence was so long I was as out of breath as the boy was, I think. And I think that was intentional construction. Loved it, Doug, nicely done as usual.

  20. Amanda Gray Woodward April 14, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    I like the way at the end I am left wondering at the father’s story as well as what the girl has to show.
    the feelings of anticipation and reminiscance go well together.

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 4:07 am #

      Aloha Amanda,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. It’s kind of a riff on the cycle of life. Read Sandra’s cogent comment. We never know just what the father is thinking as he warns his son wistfully, but it’s a certainty that he’s harking back to similar times in his life.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  21. Jeffrey Hollar April 14, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    Very Freudian little tale here. I liked it on many levels.

    • dmmacilroy April 14, 2012 at 4:08 am #

      Than you Jeffrey,

      Definitely wrote it on several levels so it’s nice to hear you enjoyed some of them.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  22. Lora Mitchell April 14, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Ahoha Doug. Obviously, the father is not up to date…Bermuda Triangles sank to the deep ocean long ago. Especially with her wearing what she’s wearing. It’s all about Brazilian waxes today. lol. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  23. The Lime April 14, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Hmmm! Interesting advice from the Dad, there. Haha to Lora’s comment… that’s pretty funny.

    I managed to get it done a little late this week. Mine’s a tad dark, though, so watch out: http://thecolorlime.wordpress.com/2012/04/14/dead-97/

  24. elmowrites April 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Fantastic story, Doug, and I love how every line is laden with innuendo and hints. the contrast between the son’s eagerness and the Dad’s wisdom is also beautifully conveyed. You have really excelled yourself this time.
    But i’m worried. Knowing girls, I’m concerned that Summer has actually asked him out there to show him a pretty view, or worse still – the ring her new boyfriend just gave her. I hope I’m wrong!

    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/friday-fiction-the-tunnel/

  25. erinleary April 14, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    That dad is a wise man. It was an interesting twist to the title. It did not go where I expected. Very rich story.

    Mine is here: http://erinleary.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/flash-friday-fiction-2/

  26. jeanelaine April 14, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Doug, I liked your suggestion! Thanks for taking the time to make it. http://jemcogdell.blogspot.com/2012/04/running.html

  27. tedstrutz April 14, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Clever imagery… which route was that again?

  28. Michael Fishman April 15, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    The Bermuda Triangle and Route 69 – interesting images there! What I liked most about this story was how you captured that teenage feeling of optimism and infallibility. A very fun read!

  29. Jeannie April 15, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    Every boy needs a Dad like that! I really like this ‘moment in time story’ that is so much deeper than a boy meeting a girl. Lots of layers! 🙂

  30. Shirley McCann April 15, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Sounds like dad was speaking from experience. Good story.
    Mine: http://shirleymccann.blogspot.com/2012/04/nightmare.html

  31. Gary April 16, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    A very amusing, lusty take on this week’s prompt. There seems to have been a split this week between lusty and scary stories – there’s definitely something about Friday the 13th and that photo!

    http://garybaileywriting.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/134/

  32. Janet April 16, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Oh man, I love this story. parents always know!

  33. Jake Kale April 16, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Well, you’ve added a new euphemism to my lexicon. Whether that was your intention or not, I salute you!

    My, er, entry is here. God, that line reads filthy now.
    http://jaykayel.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/patience-100ish-word-flash-fiction/

  34. andyfloodwritersblog April 18, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Hi Doug,

    Well, you’ve altered my perception of that photo forever 😉 Very deftly written and very funny story. You manage to make it feel intimate, insofar as we’re there with him, in that summer. Very nice work, as always.

    Andy

    http://andyfloodwritersblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/13/meet-me-there/

  35. rochellewisoff January 18, 2014 at 11:19 am #

    Dear Doug,

    You know this was my first prompt, right? And I didn’t even bother to read yours. What was I thinking? I love the understated bond between father and son. Could this be Alan speaking to young Doug?

    ILYIAMAPW,

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

