When the Sleeper Wakes….

24 Feb

…he becomes a cuddly friend to all. But be careful not to be near him at night…

For those of you who couldn’t see what jumped out at me from the outset, grabbed me in his fangs and would not let go… Here is a blow up of the beast. He’s in the upper right of the photo prompt, poking his head out from under the quilt beneath the pile of bones that fills the cave of his dreams.

I’ll get to all the comments tonight. Coming down with something. Ugh.

Aloha to all,

Doug

10 Responses to “When the Sleeper Wakes….”

  1. elmowrites February 24, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    ewww, coming down with something not good. I hope you get better soon.

    In the blow up, I have to agree it looks bear-head-ish, but in the small photo I saw that and stared at it going “he must mean that. but it’s a leaf.” I clearly have no imagination. *hangs head in shame*

    Elmo

    • dmmacilroy February 24, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

      Hi Elmo,

      Once you see it enlarged and can find ‘Winnie’ the original photo lends itself better to the illusion. But, contrary to your opinon about you imagination, I think the real answer is my eyes are so bad I can look right at something and not see it, or look right at nothing and see something. Good tool for a writer, so I’m lucky, or just nuts. Either way I’m stuck in here and have decided to enjoy the ride.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. Judee February 25, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    Wow – I never saw it, and I looked at the larger version of the photo prompt – good eyes! (Or bad eyes as you say) …. looking closer – is it really winnie, or a leaf? (my eyes are not so great either) I think it may be a leaf, and yet, now that I’ve seen a somewhat dirty and worse for wear Winnie, I can’t see it any other way.

    • dmmacilroy February 25, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Hi Judee,

      As I mentioned somewhere along the line, I saw it as Winnie the Pooh and never looked back. The head is the right shape and color and the eye is perfect and he’s peeking out from under the quilt. Had to run with it. Thanks for writing and being a friend. It’s fun banging out stories with you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. Jeannie February 25, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    and THERE it is! You have an astute eye!

    • dmmacilroy February 26, 2012 at 12:28 am #

      Thanks Jeannie,

      And once I saw it all others story lines disappeared.

      Aloha,

      D.

  4. Beth Carter February 26, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I missed the bear head, too. Nice take, Doug. Hope you’re feeling better.

    • dmmacilroy February 27, 2012 at 12:34 am #

      Hi Beth,

      Thanks, Feeling on the mend. Writing must help. Ha!

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. parul March 4, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Hmm… read it a few times now…
    Not sure if I get this…
    Maybe I need some sleep!

    • dmmacilroy March 4, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Dear Parul,

      Go to sleep. There is nothing to get on that piece. It wwas just a way to blow up a section of the phot prompt so that people could see the little head of my slumbering Winnie the Pooh that I used in my story Look Closely.

      Sweet dreams.

      D.

Leave a Reply

