Thank you

18 Feb

If you’ve stopped in to read anything written on this nascent blog.

If you’ve left a comment, compliment or critique.

If you’ve referred someone to this neck of the virtual world’s woods.

If you’ve visited without leaving a trace, stealth surfing the nine zillion blogs that make up time/space between you and I.

If you want to write for a living and you have established a ‘presence’ on the web as a part of the three legged stool of online marketing and somehow found yourself, for a moment or two, in my world.

If you’re one of the average of seventy-five family and/or friends that an undiscovered author can count on for succour and support along the way.

If you have found a sentence here, or a paragraph or page, that has resonated with you on your journey.

If you love life, language, and good long reads that you never want to end.

If you’ve held forty-seven jobs but never had a career save for writing.

If you refuse to give up, or in.

If you’ve spent half an hour searching for the right word to finish the perfect sentence..

If you’ve noticed that WordPress adds paragraph spaces and that Blogger won’t let your friends leave messages without first torturing them with obscure data entry demands and compliance with Captchas.

If you’re still with me here at the end of this post.

Thank you.

From the bottom of my heart.

Thank you.

 

Aloha,

 

Doug

31 Responses to “Thank you”

  1. teschoenborn February 18, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    I am so glad I found your blog. You just know how to make me smile.

  2. Douglas MacIlroy February 18, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    I’ll never tire of saying this…

    Thank you.

    It’s nice to post something and have it be read so quickly. Instant positive feedback. Cool.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. Judee February 18, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    I assure you, the pleasure is mine. Thank you for sharing your words with us.

    Oh and I had to smile about that Blogger comment – so frustrating, I know, as well as the paragraph spaces thing here on WP, it drives me nutty sometmes, but apparently some themes allow preformatting for poetry and such..

    Keep the words coming. 🙂

    • Douglas MacIlroy February 18, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Dear Judee,

      My writing is, to steal a line from Elton John, “…for people like you that keep me turned on.”

      Thanks again.

      Aloha,

      doug

  4. kdmccrite February 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Doug,

    You are sweet and kind and your writing sparkles like sunlight on the sea. I haven’t been around much lately, commenting on anyone’s work, even yours. But I know what you are capable of creating, and so I thank you for sharing your finely-crafted words with the rest of us.

    • Douglas MacIlroy February 19, 2012 at 6:39 am #

      Dear Kady,

      You are never far from my thoughts, especially when I am saying thank you. I find myself cheering you on from afar and am humbled that you have not forgotten you were once one of us. (Still are, too, so there!) When you are away I know you’re stirring the pot in the published writer world and I smile.

      Thank you for everything, always.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. bridgesareforburning February 18, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    You’re truly welcome Doug. I started out writing with the common dream that maybe I could make my living at it. But I’ve come to realize that the rewards from writing are really satisfaction and peace that comes from the act of creation itself. Thank you for being an artist and a generous one at that.

    • Douglas MacIlroy February 19, 2012 at 6:45 am #

      Dear Ron,

      You’re welcome.

      I haven’t stopped dreaming, but like you, my motivation has shifted to a much more enduring one. I write so that my son will know a little more about me once he reaches a more contemplative age. I hope to have a lot of material in the pipeline by then. Don’t you stop dreaming either.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. Joy February 18, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Well said, man. I thank you for this today!!

    • Douglas MacIlroy February 19, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      Dear Joy,

      You are most welcome. (And thanks for the Leibster Award. I will sort out how to pay it forward and make it happen.)

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. Caely February 19, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Dear D,

    Every day, I go to your blog in hopes of a new post. Every day, although nothing is new, it makes me smile even though the days are grey. Today was one of those grey days, and I came here through the millions of zeroes and ones, hoping you had written down something magical. And I was right, at least today. It keeps me warm, knowing that you write, knowing that you appreciate your readers, and that you simply adore writing.

    So thank you. Thank you for doing what you do, the pleasure is entirely ours.

    Love,
    Cae

  8. Douglas MacIlroy February 20, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    Dear Cae,

    i’m officially in love with you.

    Thanks, thanks, thanks…

    (You make me want to write more:)

    Aloha,

    Doug

  9. John Baldwin February 20, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Good sir,

    Here’s what I understand by reading your Tweets and Blog musings: You are a good man with a warm heart. It’s an honor to be part of your circle.

    Cheers!
    John

    • dmmacilroy February 21, 2012 at 12:44 am #

      Dear John,

      You were one of my first Twitter friends and now that I’ve cut way back on the tweeting I’m doubly honored that you would stick around and check in on me now and then. Thanks loads for that.

      We had our fiercest storm in two years up un the summit two nights ago. I took some good pictures. Soon as I recover I’ll send you a few. I appreciate your kind words very much, John, and trust you’re doing well. More soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. Russell February 20, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Doug,
    I enjoy your posts, that’s why put I subscribed. You are a very clever writer and use a lot of words that this hillbilly has to look up to get the full meaning of your prose. See–you’re helping me grow!
    I would like to be published regularly in humor magazines. Maybe that will come with time and a few hundred more submissions. What I really enjoy is when my writing makes someone laugh, spew coffee out their nose, or pee their pants. That’s the fuel that fans the fire.
    You keep writing and keep reading.

    • dmmacilroy February 21, 2012 at 12:49 am #

      Dear Russell,

      Keep on writing and submitting (and investigate Smashwords as an outlet for a self published Russell Gayer anthology. You never know.) I appreciate you warm feedback and friendship. As for helping you grow, the reverse is equally true. I look forward to reading your work because it always brings a smile to my face and a light to my days. Your encouragement fuels my fire so lets keep the light burning and rock on.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. justlyd February 21, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Thank you sir- I love this post it speaks volumes to why so many of us love reading your very capable words. It made me smile as well.

  12. Robin Hawke February 21, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    This was my favorite valentine this year, Robin

    • dmmacilroy February 22, 2012 at 4:25 am #

      Dearest Lydia,

      Thank you so much for reading Thank you. It is nice to know I’ve been able to share my gratitude with a few friends who just happen to be writers. I feel a deep and abiding connection with those who strive, as I do, to write, and write well.

      Not the destination, but the journey. It is a pleasure having you along for the ride.

      Aloha,

      Doug

    • dmmacilroy February 22, 2012 at 4:26 am #

      Dear Robin,

      ~~~~ ❤ ~~~~

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. teeceecounsel February 24, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    You are very welcome! Love your concept! Smiles!

    • dmmacilroy February 25, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Thanks again, I say with a smile:)

      Aloha,

      D.

  14. Jake Kale February 26, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    Don’t mention it, I’ve enjoyed my time here so far. And thank you for your comments on my site, they’re very much appreciated.

    PS: I totally agree about those extra spaces, they bug the hell out of me, too.

  15. Deborah the Closet Monster February 28, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    How much do I love this? I couldn’t possibly count the ways, for I’m not sure numbers go that high!

    Thank you for this.

    • Douglas MacIlroy February 28, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      Hi Deborah,

      Kind of you to drop in and visit. Thanks to you, too.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. Jeannie March 1, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    I made it to the end just fine Doug and I’m still grinning 🙂

  17. Running from Hell with El March 6, 2012 at 3:01 am #

    I just read this via The Monster in Your Closet and goodness, new friend, thank you for what you wrote. I adored it.

    • dmmacilroy March 6, 2012 at 4:21 am #

      Dear Farris,

      Thanks for telling me thanks. I appreciate it. Also for mentioning that you heard about it from Deborah. Now I have to go see how. Ah, the life of a newbie wordpress blogger. I’ll be headed your way too.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  18. just another s-a-h-mother March 6, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    thank YOU, Doug! For the smile, the grin and the chuckle. And for mentioning both wordpress’ and blogger’s quirks. It warms my heart to know I’m not the only person they irritate. 🙂

    The Monster in Your Closet pointed me in your direction .. Deborah apparently has way more time to catch up on those zillions of blogs than I do, so I sometimes rely on her discretion as to what just might be worth a read. She’s usually right.

    • dmmacilroy March 7, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      Dear Just Another,

      Deborah is pretty amazing, isn’t she? I can’t thank her enough for the humanity and love she infuses her blog with. She’s been kind to me by nudging readers my way, as though I had something worth reading. Makes me smile to think of her.

      Thank you for dropping in and commenting. I hope you’ll visit now and again. Ironwoodwind is a different sort of blog (I like to think) and it is my hope that people will enjoy themselves as they look around. (Headed you way now.)

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

