Endurance

2 Feb

You practice endurance

And the art of survival

Saving your strength through silence

That speaks volumes

 

I would be a better friend

If I had something to offer

Besides a world only I can see

And useless words

 

Nothing has changed and everything

Returns slowly to normal

The way it was before

I glimpsed the sun through the clouds

 

Left to wonder I remind myself

That there was nothing but good

I gave you a garden flame

You gave me the world

 

I have lived long in the darkness

Rumbled years on end beneath the sea

And have learned a thing

Or two about endurance

 

So I will steel myself

Shot peen the carapace again

And wait on the bridge we built

Until the waves take it down

19 Responses to “Endurance”

  1. Madison Woods February 2, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Doug I’m printing this for future reference. Might have buy a license to use it, LOL.  It would work wonderfully in the next book I have planned in the Symbiosis sequence called ‘Awakening The Sleeper’. 

    Beautiful poem.

    • dmmacilroy February 2, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      Deaar Madison,

      Thanks for your kind words. Haiku is more my style but this one surfaced from a deep place on this cold night and flew onto the paper. You’re free to use it as you see fit. (It would be wonderful to read it in your next book:)

      I’m on a roll, by the way. Wrote my story for this Friday in two hours, waited a day and re-wrote it a few times for good measure. It sits ready to go in the draft department of WordPress’ basement files. Can’t wait.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. susielindau February 2, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    I love the last paragraph about the fragility of life and relationships. So powerful.

    • dmmacilroy February 2, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      Dear Susie,

      My poem, newborn this night, is wrapped snug in the warmth of your words.

      Totally surprised that it got read at all. Soft smile and gratitude here. Thanks.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. jessicamarie19 February 2, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    I especially like stanzas 1 and 4!

    • dmmacilroy February 2, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

      Dear Jessica,

      Thank you so much for reading Endurance. How on earth did you find it?

      I’m headed your way for a visit.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. ClaireMcA February 2, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Great when they arrive near perfectly formed like the memory of a wave crashing on the shore.

    • dmmacilroy February 2, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Dear Claire,

      You are so right. I’m glad I yielded tonight.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. kdmccrite February 2, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Doug, I know very little about poetry, but I believe nearly everything you write is very poetic. This is deep and stirs the emotions. To me, that’s good writing!

    • dmmacilroy February 2, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      Dear Kady!

      You and I should go for a boat ride because the things we don’t know about poetry would sink the Titanic.

      Thanks for your kind comments. Scopes are closing. I’ll check in with you soon,

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. Tori Nelson February 7, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Doug, WOW. I’m a little embarrassed that such a talented writer reads my silly, little blog.

    • dmmacilroy February 7, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Dear Tori,

      Couple of things. Your blog isn’t silly and it isn’t little. Anyone has the power elicit strong emotions with their writing and if you move just one person in a good way, you never know what kind of reach your words have. I’ll keep checking in if you’ll keep writing.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • The Lime February 7, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

        (This interaction is so how everyone feels about Doug… haha)

  7. Russell February 7, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Even though I’ve written a few hundred poems, I know nothing about poetic styles or any of the technical terms used to define their structure–but I DO KNOW what I like. And I like this one very much.

  8. Jeannie March 1, 2012 at 2:40 am #

    I’m still pecking around your blog and found this gem. You have a straightforwardness that I like. I prefer reading poetry such as this as opposed to convoluted structures that need deciphering. I like it mighty fine! Now I’m going to go in search of some of your haiku.

    • Douglas MacIlroy March 1, 2012 at 3:13 am #

      Dear Jeannie,

      I’ve not posted any Haiku. None up to blogosphere standards. I’ll brush up on my technique and send you some for review. Thanks for poking around, my friend. You’re making me smile.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Jeannie March 1, 2012 at 4:20 am #

        That explains why I couldn’t find any! I had noticed in a comment you said you preferred haiku so I was going to hunt it up and read it for the pure pleasure. I look forward to it.

        xoxo Jeannie

  9. rochellewisoff April 26, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Dear Doug,
    You knew I’d swing by and read this, right? Thanks for sharing your insights and emotions. You have a rare gift.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

    • dmmacilroy April 26, 2013 at 11:33 am #

      Dear Rochelle,

      Hoped you might, but didn’t expect it. Nice of you to drop by. This window opens on a room in my soul few know about and fewer still visit. Gaudi and I would have gotten along famously.

      Aloha,

      Doug

Leave a Reply

