Homeland Security 2047

30 Dec

A 100 word story in response to madison Woods’ request for submissions based on the photo prompt below.  https://mail.google.com/mail/?tab=wm#inbox/1348ea5ae0a4998d Check out the stories, maybe psot one of your own. Thanks for reading. Aloha, D.

“Came with the National Identification Cards back in ‘39’,” I said to my friend from New Zealand. “They tend to hover too close, but you get used to it.”

“Had any trouble with yours?”

“Can’t say as I have, but I don’t want any, so I mind what I say and who I say it to.”

“Stone the bleedin’ crows, mate. That shit would never fly in The Shaky Isles.”

“Not sure I like it, but what can you do?” I asked quietly. The listener perked up, its antennae quivering.

“What about your civil rights?”

“Well, I wasn’t using them anyway.”

32 Responses to “Homeland Security 2047”

  1. Jan Morrill December 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Fantastic and timely, Doug. Love it! Dialogue is great, and what an ending. Only question I had was, you think we’ll wait until ’39 to introduce these critters?

    I think being on that mountain top is good for you!

    Bye y’all,
    Jan

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      Dear Jan,

      If they do introduce these critters I will be in prison shortly thereafter. Strange times we’re passing through. I’m going to fight tooth and nail to turn back the tide.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. The telescopes will be closing soon and I’ll be off this hill and reading your story as soon as I can.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. Lindaura Glamoura December 30, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Oh, that was good. Write up, right up my alley! I love the idea of the little beast “The Listener” hovering around you. So, are you using your civil rights?
    Lindaura

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      Dear Lindaura,

      Yep, I am using my civil rights. (Those that remain.) Thanks for reading and commenteing. Going to close up shop here on the hill and get to your story soon.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  3. Carlos Repuesto de la Tabla December 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Excellent once again, Doug. National Identity cards — I thought they only were going to have them in Britain, though Tony Blair’s plan was never implemented. Yet. They make so much sense, like the War on Drugs, the wars on nearly everything, but somehow… Great ending sentence!

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Dear Carlos,

      I firmly believe that liberty will prevail and the current trend toward ‘Doubleplusungood security at a price’ will be arrested (no pun intended).

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Will find your story soon this AM. Scopes closing soon. Gotta run.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  4. Madison Woods December 30, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Sure has an Orwellian feel to it Doug. I loved it and that’s more along the lines of how I originally started thinking for my story. I liked the 2047 play on 24-7, too 😉 Round the clock surveillance.

    I had a week alone here at the mountain and it sure does help to reset the soul. I could easily be a hermit if the outside world would just leave me alone, lol.

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Dear Mads,

      Let me know if I become part of the ‘outside world’ and I’ll give you a respite. This photo was challenging, once again. Thank you so much for keeping this whole Friday thing humming along.

      Aloha,

      Doug

      • Madison Woods January 1, 2012 at 3:00 am #

        Haha, no I mean ‘outside’ as in day job and obligations like keeping the lights on 😉

  5. susielindau December 30, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    It is a scary world and your post may not be too far from the truth!!
    Excellent 100 word flash Doug! Happy New Year!

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      Thanks Susie,

      That world is happening all around us. Writer’s are going to have to lead the charge to get us back to a saner world.

      happy New Year to you, too.

      Yours,

      Doug

  6. Russell December 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Last year the county assessor showed up with a little measuring wheel so they could tax us for the rock patio and extension to the pole barn that they had seen on Google Earth.

    We’ve also seen what we believe to be drones (mini blimps with electric motors) pass overhead. Your story hits way too close to home.

    Get job, and I love the last line 🙂

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks Russell,

      Shoot down the drones (the assessor seems to fit rather well into that sentence as well, doesn’t he/she/it?)

      Fight the drift into a police state with everything you’ve got, or you won’t have it for long.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  7. Siobhan Muir December 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    Wow. Eep! That’s a spooky little reminder of 1984 and Brave New World. Great story, Doug. 🙂

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      Hi, Siobhan,

      I’m glad you liked it. They’re coming soon. in the future I won’t be able to write such a story.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. kbnelson December 30, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Great story, Doug – I loved the line where the “listener” perks up. Big Brother is watching! (And now, so is Little Mosquito!)

    Mahalo!

    (My Friday Flash…http://wp.me/p1MNJe-cw)

    • dmmacilroy December 30, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      Hi Karen,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. What is scary is that this is all coming true. Ever see the movie ‘Brazil’? “We’re all in this together.”

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. John Wiswell December 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I could use a few security bugs! Especially if I get to program them with MP3s, so the Mission Impossible theme plays when they’re spying on me.

    • dmmacilroy January 1, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Dear John,

      Be careful what you wish for….

      Aloha,

      Doug

  10. parul December 30, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Superb imagination!
    I decided to read others’ after writing my own.
    Very good! Kudos! 🙂

    • dmmacilroy January 1, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      Dear Parul,

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Going to find your story now.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. kdmccrite December 30, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Doug, you always have just the right touch with the words. I’m amazed at how beautifully your writing flows, no matter what topic you address. Great job!

    I’m back now, and here’s my flash this week: http://sweettea.kdmccrite.com/flash-fiction-3/when-little-wendell-sneezed-flash-fiction-122011/

    • dmmacilroy January 1, 2012 at 9:13 am #

      Kady,

      You are always saying something kind about my writing and it always makes me feel good. Thanks. I appreciate the compliments. Though all the stories were interesting, your ‘flue bug’ was perfect.

      Have a Happy New Year. Fireworks just starting to ramp up here. Midnight approaches.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  12. eliserae December 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    That’s so harsh! And scarily relevant for today. I like the dialogue, I can hear their voices. Write on!

    ~Elise

    • dmmacilroy January 1, 2012 at 9:10 am #

      Dear Elise,

      My apologies for not responding sooner. Catching up on sleep and writing. Fireworks just starting to go off here. 51 minutes till New Year.

      Thanks for your kind comments. Looking forward to reading more from you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  13. Robin Hawke January 2, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    A good fight. I’m in your army, Robin

    • dmmacilroy January 2, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks Robin,

      i hope there’s a lot more like you out there.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  14. Caely January 5, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi D,

    A little late, but better late than never!
    I don’t think that future is far away, sadly. Your story had me thinking of whatever freedom will remain once we’re actually there…Creepy thoughts. Whatever the outcome, I agree with Robin, I’m in your army.

    Love,
    Cae

    • Douglas MacIlroy January 5, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      Hi Cae,

      Anytime is the right time. Thanks for reading. Talk to you soon for this week’s story.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  15. ClaireMcA January 9, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    Love the comment from downunder, “too right bro”

    • dmmacilroy January 9, 2012 at 8:15 am #

      Thanks, mate!

      The world needs the sort of uncommon common sense that typifies Aussies and Kiwis. Fit my story nicely.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  16. rochellewisoff January 13, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    Dear Doug,

    In retrospect, you’re still my Friday Fictioneers hero.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle SD

Leave a Reply

