The Healing

4 Nov

This post is in response to Madison Woods Friday Fictioneers 100 word story photo prompt. I failed miserably in the 100 words department and humbly beg the pardon of all whose minds wander in the reading.

This post is dedicated to an author I am proud to call friend and am fortunate to know. She has helped me in many ways since I met her little more than a year ago, not the least of which is being the inspiration for this story.

Kady, I think of you often barreling into the sunshine after a long season of bitter cold. No one deserves it more than you.

Aloha,

Doug

P.S. One last item for everyone posting their 100 words today. I am about to go on vacation and am leaving my computer behind. I’ll be reading and posting responses and comments over the next few days via iPhone. I will get the job done, but it’s going to take time and may involve typos, weird auto correction entries and the like. Thank you in advance for reading my story and for your patience. D.

The Healing

Lilly was in the bathroom tending her newest bruises when her husband rose in the pre-dawn darkness, banged on the locked door and then stumbled away to piss in the yard. She thought about warning him, but remained silent. His leg snapping sounded like his open hand striking her face and also like one of the many branches that had given way in the aftermath of the storm. He called out for help at first, but when she didn’t go to him he cursed her name.

She gripped the edge of the sink and felt something broken in her beginning  to knit. Lilly  left the bathroom, spent a few minutes gathering things she needed and then walked gingerly past him and down the drive.

As her train rounded a curve Lilly could see the sun rise in a golden nimbus of ice crystals raised by the locomotive’s passage through the broken and bowed woods. She smiled. The thaw would come fast.

14 Responses to “The Healing”

  1. susielindau November 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    This reminds me of a movie, Dolores Claiborne. Ah… sweet revenge!! Great description as usual! No apologies needed! It was the perfect length~

    • dmmacilroy November 4, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      Dear Susie,

      I’ve never read Dolores Claiborne. I hope I didn’t channel Mr. King too closely. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  2. kdmccrite November 4, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Doug,

    I am so touched that you would dedicate something you wrote to me. Thank you, dear friend, for doing that.

    The above post is disturbing and touching. We fully understand why she leaves him to a fate he has brought on himself, and we waste no sympathy on him. I’m so glad Lilly got away and found herself walking into a new sun. Great job, as always!

    Thank you again.

    Your loving friend,
    Kady

  3. Russell November 4, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I’m hope a live power line will fall on the bastard before he can drag his rotten carcass back in the house, or maybe his balls will freeze off–HA!. Either way, good riddance. Great story, Doug.

  4. mahjira November 4, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Please tell me that the mail doesn’t deliver to that house. I’d like to see a fresh dusting of snow covering him myself – but that’s just me. Nicely done and a very sweet ending to Lilly’s horrid life. Hope the rest of her life is sunshine and happiness.

  5. John Wiswell November 4, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I wondered how you were going to connect their domestic abuse drama to the photo prompt. I presumed she’d flee; I’ll join Russell in somewhat hoping the powerline falls on him.

  6. Jan Morrill November 4, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Very cool the way you related the weather to Lilly herself. You were masterful in illiciting our disdain for her husband. Good job!

    As for iPhone replies while you’re on vacation — that’s what I did while in Thailand. It’s a real challenge–good luck, and most of all, enjoy your vacation!

  7. Caely November 4, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Yet another amazing story. This time, I can relate to it more than any other of your previous stories. And I’m happy to find a new beginning for Lilly’s new life, one that is not shadowed by the horrific past.

    Thank you.

    Love,
    Cae

  8. Siobhan Muir November 4, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Wow, her anger and her resolve are breathtaking. Nicely done, Doug.

    • Sheilagh Lee November 4, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      So she’s thinking karma baby karma? well written.

  9. Madison Woods November 5, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    What I’m most amazed by is that you managed to make me feel absolutely no guilt whatsoever for being glad Lilly left him there to die. Great job, and the cold shoulder she gave him was a great personification of Mother Nature’s impartiality.

  10. Robin Hawke November 5, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Her light at the end of the tunnel, the nimbus…beautiful image, as powerful as the prompt. Robin

  11. Karen Pfister Nelson November 5, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I’m beginning to like the way your mind works, sir. Very engaging, and even though we don’t know anything about this guy, I already hate him because you drew HER so well! Thanks for sharing (and have a great vacation!) – Here’s my (late) Friday posting:

    http://wp.me/p1MNJe-bf

    Karen

  12. WhitneyCarter November 6, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Interesting… Her mind was made up before the first word was written, wasn’t it? She must have endured hell to have been tempered strong enough to walk away. And that little smile at the end–it released all the pressure that was built up from the start. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

