Blogs are dangerous

4 Oct

Blogs are dangerous.

I just visited the site of a person who followed me on Twitter. His profile had a blog address listed so I sidled over there to check it out. I read several posts and found an earnest, self published writer fighting the good fight and doing all the right things to get his work out there, seen, and sold. All for fame and glory and so that his checks don’t bounce. During the course of my visit I did what I always do when I go to a book store and read the first page of a novel. I decided whether I might like to read any of this author’s work.

The trouble came a few minutes in with a sentence in which the word ‘catalyst’ was misused.  This was like an anti-reader mine buried in the text, waiting for me to come along and detonate it. There’s only one path through the minefield when you’re reading so there was no way to avoid it. You can’t unread something, can you? I wish I could, but it doesn’t work that way for me. I could hear the click as the trigger depressed. The ensuing explosion damaged the author’s credibility, saved me time and money and reminded me not to sow any explosive devices into my writing. (Wish me luck.)

Blogging. It’s all fun and games until someone gets their eye poked out.

(I’d better proofread this about three thousand times.)

 

3 Responses to “Blogs are dangerous”

  1. kdmccrite October 4, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Doug,

    I know what you mean. So many writers are earnest and creative. They want so badly to be successful that they forget what it takes to get there. Success is not the printed page, though that can certainly be one sign of it, but it’s more than that. Success is when you engage a reader is the best possible story you can present. You cannot do so if you fail to understand the language, or if you misuse and misspell words, abandon grammar, and never proofread your work.

    I think, in their zeal to get that story “out there” many writers dash off the words that tell a tale but neglect to clean it up. It’s rather like going to work in your pajamas and believing the boss ought to be grateful you made an effort to get out of bed. Until burgeoning writers realize good writing is hard work beyond the initial storytelling phase, they will continue to pursue the easiest and most comfortable path.

  2. Joy October 4, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Ha! Yea, hopefully my blog doesn’t detonate any time soon.

  3. susielindau October 4, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Land mine – Watch out for your eyes!! That happened to me recently too! I really got a great vibe from a writer until I read his first page and I couldn’t figure out where the people were standing. The whole page was full of telling instead of showing and I was so disappointed….I just hope that one day when I have a novel, I don’t disappoint with a major error!!!!
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

