A Day in Eternity

30 Sep

My foray into the pleasing and flexible world of WordPress begins with the 100 word story below. It is inspired by the picture posted for Friday Fictioneers by Madison Woods. The picture can be found here. http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/photo-inspiration-for-fridayflash-and-fictioneers/

I’m going to figure out how to personalize this blog and hope at this early stage that comments will show up here. Please send them along if you have a minute or two. I view all comments as constructive criticism and won’t melt should you feel like turning up the heat.

Thanks for reading.

Aloha,

Doug

(Ha! Just figured out how to paste a picture in here. [The picture] Very cool.)

A Day in Eternity

 

They say we are inanimate, cold and lifeless. But they are wrong. We live and grow old.

Born of star spawn and accretion, tempered by fiery impact and molten rivers, we are ancient beyond imagination. Cooled by endless rains, shaped by ice and wind, polished by water’s patient hand, we have endured much, including the too certain judgment of beings that flicker briefly then fall like countless leaves beneath time’s scythe. Having spoken, they add their colors to the landscape, joining us in the stream for a day in eternity.

Be still.

Be quiet and listen.

You will hear us.

28 Responses to “A Day in Eternity”

  1. Lauraine Ayers-briel September 30, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    ~~~many long polished days line the rivers bank of memory~~~

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 10:22 am #

      Hi Lauraine,

      How do you like my new digs, blogwise? Going to spruce it up and make it my own.
      Thanks for the addition to my day. Love your words. D.

  2. Caely September 30, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Welcome to wordpress!

    Just letting you know that everytime you write something, it puts a smile on my face. As you know, you’re one of my sources of inspiration and I can’t thank you enough for what you do to my writing. Thank you.

    I hope you’re doing well.

    Love,

    Cae

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Hi Caely,

      I am a WordPress newbie but hope to learn fast. Will be posting every Friday in the Flash Friday slot to shake off the rust. You should join in.

      Your long days have begun the swing into darkness, haven’t they? I wish I could spend an afternoon in Stockholm and buy you a beer.

      Are you well and visualizing your world as you like it?

      Aloha, D.

      • Jan Morrill September 30, 2011 at 11:52 am #

        Caely, we were in Stockholm a few months ago – what a beautiful city. We loved our short visit and hope to return one day.

        Jan

      • Caely September 30, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

        Oh, you will like it here. It is simple, and it’s up to the user to make it feel like home. Tell me more about this Flash Friday, it seems interesting.

        Yes, autumn is finally here. Although the colors are mesmerizing, the cold is slowly sneaking up upon us. How is Hawaii?

        My world is currently full of new challenges – it’s the way I like it. Everything is moving at my pace, and my hard work is finally paying off. All is good on this side of the Atlantic, I wish I could enjoy your company too. I can only imagine the discussions we would have…

        Be well my friend.

        Love,
        Cae

  3. Jan Morrill September 30, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Your description of “them” is as beautiful as the photo, Doug. I will never think the same way again.

    On the WordPress note, I’ve been tempted to try it out, too, after some frustration with Blogger. But, the thought of starting over . . . 😦

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

      Thanks, Jan, for reading and leaaving me your impressions. I appreciate it.

      Re starting over. I highly recommend it. I just got done typing a comment in the reply section of your blog and hit ‘post reply’ only to see my comment disappear in to the ether. Let me know if you get it. i’ve memorized it and will retype it if it doesn’t show up. Many people used to try to leave comments for me on Blogger and gave up. I switched for the more thorough feedback and as a payback to my followers.

      Dive in, girl! The water’s fine.

  4. susielindau September 30, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    This is fantastic! Welcome to the Fictioneers! I love your poetic use of imagery – beautiful!

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Dear Susie,

      Thank you for the welcome and for your compliment. That you heard a bit of poetry, if only for a few lines, has me smiling wide.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  5. kdmccrite September 30, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    As always, Doug, I feel your writing right down to the tips of my toes. Beautiful, beautiful. As a rock lover, this just absolutely sang to me.

    And welcome to WordPress. I think you’ve figured out things I’m still stumbling around trying to learn. (I’ve been on WordPress for years. YEARS!)

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks, Kady, for more than just your telling comments, but also for all of your help over the past year and then some. You’re the best.

      I’m looking forward to mastering the finer points of WordPress soon, but for now my hodgepodge of one day old input will have to do. (Madison appears to be the master in this realm.) Going to go look for you on FB right now. Hope I find you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  6. Madison Woods September 30, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Loved it Doug. Everyone’s comments say pretty much what I would have said – beautiful!

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Thank you, Madison,

      (And thanks for helping me get started again.) I love this format and I love my new WordPress blog space home. going to try to get all my old stuff ported over and then I’ll be in heaven.

      Aloha,

      D.

  7. Siobhan Muir September 30, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Beautifully done! I’m a geologist by trade and this is exactly why I got into it. I want to learn the stories the rocks have to tell! Well done! 🙂

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

      Siobahn,

      Thank you. Coming from a geologist, your kind comments make me smile all the more. Nice to know the story resonated with you.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  8. John Hardy Bell September 30, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Wow, that one gave me chills! I’ve never read any of your work before, and based on this I’m sorry that I haven’t!

    Better late than never, I suppose! 🙂

    Nicely done…

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      Thank you, John,

      Chills are good. i like that I gave ’em to you. Or the rocks did. Did you post a story? I’m just down off of the summit of Mauna Kea where I work a long night shift so I’m kind of loopy. Will be looking for your submission.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  9. kbnelson September 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Oooooh! I love that you used the rocks in the photo – when everyone else focused on the feather (I’m sure there’s something psychologically revealing there….) Great job!

    http://kbnelson.wordpress.com

    • dmmacilroy September 30, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      Karen, I think it means I have rocks in my head…..not. In any event I thank you for you noticing that I fixed on the rocks. The feather and the dead leaves spoke to me of impermanace and the transitory nature of most species. The rocks take a longer view of things.

  10. Sonia Lal September 30, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    Lovely descriptions! I like the rock’s POV.

    • dmmacilroy October 1, 2011 at 3:25 am #

      Sonia!

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Do you have something I can read? I’ll bet you do. Send me a link!

      Aloha,

      Doug

  11. Tiyana October 1, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I agree: your story was so poetic! Has a very nice rolling quality to it. 🙂

    • dmmacilroy October 1, 2011 at 3:23 am #

      Tiyana,

      Thanks for the feedback. We’re all headed that way, after all, so I thought about their view. Where’s the link for your story? Hmmmmm? I want to read it.

      Aloha,

      Doug

  12. Madison Woods October 1, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Hey Doug, they’ve all posted their links over at my story 😉

    • dmmacilroy October 1, 2011 at 3:48 am #

      Thanks Madison!

      Heading over there now. I’m going to figure out how to get them all organized and follow everyone. I absolutely love this process. Many Mahalo’s to you, girl.

      D.

  13. Helen October 2, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I think that’s the nicest description of river pebbles I’ve every read. ^_^

    • dmmacilroy October 2, 2011 at 2:27 am #

      Helen,

      Thanks. Maybe next time I’m crossing a stream it will keep me from slipping. Never can tell.

      Doug

Leave a Reply

